SVRA To Offer National Championships


SOUTHLAKE, Texas — The Sportscar Vintage Racing Ass’n announced that for the first time ever America’s premier vintage racing organization will offer season-long championships.

Titles will be contested for both their short sprint races and their endurance contests — commonly referred to as “enduros” — of a set distance or timed competition of up to 90 minutes in duration. Previously, the season-long SVRA points championship has been centered in the eastern United States.

“This is clearly another example of how the SVRA has expanded into a national platform,” said Tony Parella, SVRA president and CEO. “We’re proud to be the first and only vintage racing organization to make this kind of recognition for our drivers and car owners possible.”

Points awarded to drivers for finishing positions are the same for both the sprint and endurance competitions. They range from 16 for first place to a single point for tenth. Race weekends awarding points will vary, however. The sprint race schedule includes 13 event weekends for all SVRA groups. The endurance championship includes ten weekends and each of those enduros may have unique classes to be announced. When co-drivers participate in an enduro, they can be eligible for points.

To be eligible for any season championship, drivers must be SVRA members. For the sprint race championship, a driver’s best six finishes of the 13 races awarding points will be counted. To qualify, a driver must participate in at least three races during the season. Points are awarded for both Saturday and Sunday feature races with the exception of Sunday of the weekend at COTA. The season champions will be recognized at the Saturday evening banquet at COTA.

Circuit of The Americas is the host track for the SVRA’s established gold Bell Racing National Champions Helmet. Unlike the new season points championship announced today, the Bell Racing National Champions Helmet is a single-event competition and is open to all competitors from any vintage racing series in a run-off style contest. The Bell Racing National Championship Helmet races were first established in 2013.

The SVRA endurance series championship will take place at the following tracks: Sebring Int’l Raceway, Amelia Island Vintage GP, Willow Springs, Road America, Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Open Wheel World Challenge), Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Brickyard Invitational), Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Portland Int’l Raceway, Watkins Glen Int’l and Virginia Int’l Raceway.

In addition to those venues, the sprint race championship series will include weekends at Roebling Road Raceway, Auto Club Speedway, and COTA.

“I believe this kind of innovation and our growing national platform has a lot to do with the increased interest we are seeing with sponsors,” Parella added. “The accessibility of our product throughout the country at marquee venues naturally translates to greater visibility and awareness.”

Previous articleDavid Gravel Bests Schatz In Florida
Next articleMaverick Vinales Tops The Charts is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.