Minor Secures Summit Point Pole


SUMMIT POINT, W.Va. – A late afternoon qualifying session for the F2000 Championship Series at Summit Point on a drying race track with lap times tumbling saw local expert and 2013 F2000 Champion Tim Minor grab the pole position at the very last opportunity in his No. 88 Citation for Ski Motorsports.

Minor took the pole ahead of Kyle Connery, in the No. 91 Van Diemen while David Grant, in another Van Diemen for Polestar Racing Group, was third.

Minor clinched his first F2000 title at the last event which took place at Mid-Ohio after a dominating season. But before his run-away 2013 streak started, Minor had one F2000 win to date, and that came at Summit Point in 2009. The veteran racer may have more laps around Summit Point than anyone else in the F2000 paddock. He also has more poles than anyone else in 2013, taking yet another WISKO Pole Award at Summit Point on Friday.

The day was originally set to have five practice sessions and qualifying sessions for both races, but weather led to a change that had series officials schedule one qualifying session for race one while drivers and teams got six practices on the day. The second race, on Sunday, will have its grid set based on the fastest laps in race one.

Following the Championship trio was HP-Tech’s Santino Ferrucci in the No. 10 Van Diemen, putting in a lap time good enough for fourth position.

Lining up on row three will be WISKO Racing F2000 teammates Federico Mosconi and Kevin Kopp. For Kopp, Summit Point marks a home race and a location where he landed on the podium in his Van Diemen in 2012. For Mosconi, the Italian/American driver seemed to lap more than everyone else in the earlier practice rain sessions, taking advantage of a clear track to turn lap after lap on his west-weather Hoosier spec tires.