Eidson Claims Soggy F1600 Triumph

Jake Eidson (10) drove to victory in Saturday's F1600 Formula F Championship Series event at Lime Rock (Conn.) Park. (Valet Photo)
Jake Eidson (10) drove to victory in Saturday’s F1600 Formula F Championship Series event at Lime Rock (Conn.) Park. (Valet Photo)

LIME ROCK, Conn. – Jake Eidson made it two wins in a row in F1600 Formula F Championship Series competition, going from fifth to first at Lime Rock Park in the rain a day after he turned 18 in the Cape Motorsports Spectrum/Honda.

Eidson capitalized on the weather situation, passing four cars in the opening laps, grabbing the lead and managing the pace to the checkered flag ahead of Adrian Starrantino and WISKO teammates Paul Alspach and Aaron Telitz.

Eidson, driving the No. 10, battled back from a two-grid spot qualifying penalty after missing the checkered flag in heavy rain at Lime Rock on Friday afternoon.

“That was a great race,” Eidson said. “I started fifth and was able to wiggle my way to first and that was that. It seemed to dry a bit near the end but the Spectrum was good, we’ll see what happens in the second race later today.”

Alspach marked his first podium in his third F1600 start for WISKO Racing in the No. 66 Mygale/Honda. The aspiring racer briefly took the lead early in the race with a daring outside pass in turn one.

As the race developed Alspach and Starrantino would battle it out for second, with the two eventually touching in the closing stages of the all-green-flag race.

“It was real hard racing with Adrian,” said Alspach, “unfortunately we touched wheels and he got the short end of the stick.”

Starrantino completed the podium in the Bryan Herta Autosport Mygale/Honda, earning points after a recent DNF at Road Atlanta.

“After Road Atlanta it’s good to be able to salvage some points,” added Starrantino, who started from the pole position.

Championship leader Aaron Telitz followed in fourth place for the WISKO Racing team in the No. 13 Mygale/Honda, while Jim Goughary completed the top five and earned the Masters Class win in his No. 7 Van Diemen/Honda.