Connery Wires 100th F2000 Event

Kyle Connery was unbeatable during Saturday's F2000 Championship Series race at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) Int'l. (Valet Photo)
Kyle Connery was unbeatable during Saturday’s F2000 Championship Series race at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) Int’l. (Valet Photo)

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. – Marking a historic day for the F2000 Championship Series, Kyle Connery stormed to his second win of the 2013 season in round eight of 14, and the 100th race in series history.

Connery, driving the No. 91 Van Diemen for CC Autosport/James Lee Racing, started on a wet race track, and protected the lead to stay in the front for all of 14 laps to win over points leader Tim Minor and Fabio Orsolon, who started 34th.

While the track was wet to start, it quickly dried as the sun came out and the pace quickened during the race as Connery was able to carve his way through lapped traffic.

“This win came at the perfect time,” said Connery. “It felt so great to be out front and win here. We got lucky with lapped traffic and hats off to the CC Autosport team. We were going to start on slicks but we looked at the rest of the paddock and decided to go with the rains.”

While some teams gambled with slick tires, rain Hoosiers were the choice for success on a wet race track for the opening laps.

Minor keeps his huge Championship lead with another well-managed race, on rain tires, to finish second in the No. 88 Ski Motorsports Citation.

“I got hit twice at the start of the race,” said Minor, “and decided I needed to bring this thing home. It was a matter of managing lapped traffic today.”

And Orsolon notched a major accomplishment, driving from 34th on the grid after gearbox problems on Friday to an amazing third place in the Radon chassis for GTP Motorsports. The team had a late night as they were forced to change gearboxes, with a new unit on loan from Momentum Motorsports.

“I need to thank the Radon and GTP team for a great car,” said Orsolon, who had the fastest pace for most of the race. “After being fast on Thursday we have something to show for it.”

Ferrucci was fourth for HP-Tech, making it a third and fourth on his debut in F2000. David Grant completed the top five for Polestar Racing Group in the No. 29 Van Diemen.