Connery Splashes Home At Lime Rock

Kyle Connery took the checkered flag in Saturday's second F2000 Championship Series race at Lime Rock Park.
Kyle Connery took the checkered flag in Saturday’s second F2000 Championship Series race at Lime Rock Park.

LAKEVILLE, Conn. — Kyle Connery grabbed the lead on lap one from the outside front row in the rain at Lime Rock Park and never looked back, pulling out a huge margin to win over Roberto Lorena and Federico Monsconi, in a podium sweep for Van Diemens and aspiring racers.

Connery took his first win since 2011 at Watkins Glen Int’l and made up ground in his Championship pursuit.

Championship leader Tim Minor finished outside the top five, spinning off the track and losing laps early in the race while running second to Connery.

“The track conditions were crazy,” said Connery, who failed to finish the first race of the day after spinning off in the rain while trying to take the lead. “I used lessons learned from the first race and was patient and tried to pay attention. It’s great to end the weekend on a high note, I couldn’t be more thrilled.”

At Watkins Glen in June, Connery will return to the site of a sweep and two wins in 2011.

Finishing on the podium for his second race in a row was rookie Lorena, from Brazil and in the No. 9 HP-Tech Van Diemen.

“Again, what a great race,” Lorena said. “I got clear of the incident in turn one and the car was very good.”

Rounding out the podium and making it his second third place result of 2013, Italian Mosconi stayed out of trouble in the No. 99 machine for WISKO Racing.

David Grant was fourth for Polestar Racing Group despite early race contact with Matt McDonough while Robert Wright completed the top five and took the Masters Class victory for Momentum Motorsports in the No. 77 Radon chassis.

Jake Eidson won the F1600 race.


Previous articleUnser Family The Best Ever At Indy
Next articleNATIONWIDE: History 300 is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.