Fittipaldi & Barbosa Tame The Glen


Joel Miller, Tristan Nunez and Yojiro Terada gave Mazda and SpeedSource its fourth consecutive victory in the GX class in the No. 00 Visit Florida Racing Mazda6 after mechanical troubles plagued the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman and No. 70 MAZDASPEED/SpeedSource Mazda 6 earlier in the event.

“A fourth win in a row for SpeedSource proves the Skyactiv diesel is coming along quite nicely,” Miller said. “We knew the other two cars had a malfunction, so we just paced ourselves.”

The final hour of the race was dictated by pit strategy with a number of teams having to pit for a splash of fuel. The four-time defending champion No. 01 Telcel/TELMEX BMW/Riley driven by Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas was black-flagged on the final stop for leaving the pit box with pit equipment attached. The mishap left them with a seventh-place finish.

There was a major points shakeup in the DP class with the top two teams in the standings entering the event running into problems. Wayne Taylor Racing co-drivers Max Angelelli and Jordan Taylor came into the race with a one-point lead, but suffered gear lever problems on the opening lap of the race in the No. 10 Velocity Worldwide/Toshiba Corvette DP.

The team rallied back from five laps down to finish one lap down in tenth, and the duo is now tied (194-194) with Starworks drivers Ryan Dalziel and Alex Popow. Popow, Dalziel and event co-driver Sebastien Bourdais combined to lead a race-high 58 laps in the No. 2 Soloson Ford/Riley.

The No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Corvette DP duo of Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty entered the race second in points, but now sit five points back (194-189) in fourth after suffering a right-front suspension failure on lap 38. Fittipaldi is now third in points, four points out (194-190) after his win.

Action Express heads to the NAEC finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway with a four-point lead (32-28) over Chip Ganassi Racing in the NAEC team standings. Stevenson Motorsports leads by two points (28-26) over AIM Autosport Team FXDD in GT, and BGB Motorsports holds a one-point advantage (29-28) over SpeedSource in GX.

It will be winner-take-all in the NAEC at the Brickyard Grand Prix with 20 points being awarded to the winner at the finish. Second place will receive 16 points, with third place receiving 12 points and fourth receiving eight.