Eastern Majors Tour Concludes At The Glen


The Formula 500 top drivers were mixed into the same pack that the Formula F leaders were in, with Michael Brent leading the way in the No. 47 Hoosier Tire/QRE Invader QC-1. Disaster fell Brent on lap 12, however, as he tangled with a slower car and ended his day.

That temporarily handed the lead to David Lapham’s No. 56 QRE/Hoosier Tire Invader QC-1, who was then passed by eventual winner Keith Joslyn’s No. 51 ASI Signage/Trimark QRE QC-1.

Lapham was joined on the podium by his daughter, Katie Lapham, who finished third in the No. 88 QRE Invader. A sixth-place finish in the No. 67 Mitchell Racing Services Scorpion secured the season-long title for Jack Walbran.

Roger Siebenaler outlasted the Formula Vee field for the second consecutive day, garnering a pair of trophies in the No. 72 Autowerks/Hoosier Mysterian M2. Steven Davis’ No. 80 Hoosier/Butler Engines Racer’s Wedge SB-1 clinched the season long title, running ninth on Sunday.

Elivan Goulart pulled a large enough gap from the field in the No. 70 SAC Racing/SCDA1.com Mazda Miata to stay out of the draft and earn the win. Denny Steyn pulled his No. ADEPT Studios/Rossini/ OPM/Traqmate Miata off track a lap shy of the finish, but had previously clinched the Eastern Conference Championship.

Jimmy Simpson drove his No. 36 Swift 016/Mazda to the Formula Atlantic and overall win, but the position battles behind him were deciding the season-long championships. John Burke’s No. 55 Fast Pirate LLC Swift 014a/Toyota chased Simpson early on, and then finished as the runner-up. Coupled with a third place finish by Chris Fahan’s No. 39 Hoosier Tire/MAZDASPEED/Fahan Paving Swift 016/Mazda, Burke edged Fahan by a single point to take the Championship.

Dennis Hanratty made a similar move in D Sports Racing. Needing a lot of help and a great finish to take the title, Hanratty drove to a win in the No. 18 EPIC Cameras/Kinesys Sunscreen West WR-1000/McLaren. When Greg Bell scored no points with a DNF, Hanratty was crowned champion.

Alex Mayer’s third-place finish in Formula 1000 was also enough to take the class championship.

The Spec Racer Ford battle featured a battle, not only for the race win, but for the championship. The only way that defending National Champion Cliff White would fall shy of the Eastern Conference title is if Tray Ayres’ No. 7 Ayres Racing SRF won, while White’s No. 58 Thompson White Racing SRF finished third or lower.

White took care of that himself by battling to the front of a four-car rumble for the checkered flag. The two contenders, along with Franklin Futrelle’s No. 1 Meco Inc. of Augusta/Comprent Motorsports/Skip Barber Racing School SRF and Brian Schofield’s No. 6 1PM Racing SRF, swapped positions numerous times over the 14-lap race.

Previous articleINDYCAR: Pocono IndyCar 400
Next articlePocono Sweep Ends Ganassi Team’s Drought
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.