Connery Soars To F2000 Championship Pole


Grant, meanwhile, was third quick, a tenth off Minor is his best F2000 qualifying effort in three attempts.

The Polestar driver commented he was still getting acclimated to the No. 29 Van Diemen, and learning how it was different than his Toyota Atlantic car, which he won four races and the Atlantic Championship Series title in last season.

The veteran should factor into the race as well, with two Atlantic wins and thousands of laps around Road Atlanta.

Zach Craigo was fourth quick for Front Range Motorsports with Kevin Kopp completing the top five for WISKO.

Rounding out the top ten were Steve Bamford, Sergio Pasian, Roberto Lorena for HP-Tech, Brent Gilkes, and Jim Libecco, sporting a new engine after a motor failure at VIR.

Keith McCrone was 11th quick in the Metrik chassis ahead of Matt McDonough, the 2006 Champion driving the Radon chassis for Paul Farmer. “Fast-Matt” said he had not been in a car for 18 months and in 2011, qualified the Radon sixth at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.