Complete Domination For Audi At Sebring


Level 5 Motorsports went 1-2 in P2 with Marino Franchitti, Ryan Briscoe and team owner Scott Tucker winning in the No. 551 Honda Performance Development ARX-03b. Tucker tied a Sebring record with his fourth consecutive class win, joining Bob Holbert (1961-64), Olivier Gendebien (1959-62) and Sascha Maassen (2001-04).

“This is an incredible experience,” Tucker said. “Today, and over the past four years, make you realize that (Sebring) is just a special place and I think everyone likes coming here. You kind of make your own luck, and we got lucky in a lot of spots. Things went to plan.”

Franchitti crossed the line just seconds ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No 552 Level 5 entry. Hunter-Reay drove with Tucker and Simon Pagenaud. The Greaves Motorsport trio of Tom-Kimber Smith, Christian Zugel and Eric Lux placed third.

Level 5 and Greaves swapped the class lead with Extreme Speed Motorsports’ No. 01 HPD in the race’s opening half. Familiarity with the HPD prototype and experience at Sebring – plus a clean race – eventually won out for Level 5.

“We’ve gone through some challenges but every one has worked so hard,” Briscoe said. “They were up ‘til 3 (Saturday morning) working on the cars, and then they ran flawlessly. The pit stops were absolutely perfect. We didn’t put a wheel off all day. We didn’t want to have an exciting race; we knew we just had to have a good day.”

Previous articleVillopoto Keeps Rolling Along In Indy
Next articleALMS: 12 Hours Of Sebring is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.