Young Haudenschild Rules Attica


Cap Henry and Haudenschild would bring the field to the green for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 410 Sprint feature. Henry would lead the first lap with Haudenschild racing to his inside while fourth place starter Craig Mintz ran right on their rear bumpers. Mintz would take second on lap two and would drive into the lead a lap later. Haudenschild drove into second on lap four and immediately raced under Mintz to challenge for the lead. Mintz and Haudenschild wild battle side by side over the next seven laps as they raced into traffic by lap 10. A Brian Lay spin on lap 13 would halt the action.

When the green reappeared, Mintz and Haudenschild would continue their exciting race with Haudenschild leading lap 12 but Mintz regaining the top spot as they ran side by side. Haudenschild would grab the lead on lap 14 with Mintz staying to his outside.

With 15 laps in the books – halfway – Haudenschild lead Mintz, who now had his hands full with Blaney who was behind the wheel of the Tony Kennedy No. 14k machine. Meanwhile there was a tremendous battle for fourth between Travis Philo, Chris Andrews, Byron Reed and Henry.

Blaney would take second from Mintz on lap 17 and closed on Haudenschild who had found the back of the pack with 10 circuits remaining. The caution would fly on lap 21 for a Cole Duncan spin with Haudenschild leading Blaney, Andrews, Mintz, Philo, Reed and a closing Caleb Griffith up from 13th starting spot.

Andrews would slip up on lap 23 and would stop with front end problems, bringing out the caution. The restart order was Haudenschild, Blaney, Mintz, Philo, Reed, Griffith, Henry and 16th place starter D.J. Foos. The final caution would fly on lap 27 for a Stuart Brubaker spin. With the clear track, Haudenschild would blast to the top side of turns one and two and would pull away from Blaney.

Haudenschild would drive to the win over Blaney, Mintz, Griffith and Philo.

Previous articleLafferty Scores At Port Royal
Next articleFalk Still The Man At Langley is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.