Wild Finish Lands Pope In East Bay Victory Lane


Caution would come once again on lap three as Dale Pope had spun in turn one. Next caution would come out as Forrest Gough would slow on the front stretch on the restart and would come to rest in turn three. Pope was still leading with Brown up to second, Koperda third and Tim Powers up to the fourth spot and Crouse fifth. On lap six it was Tim Powers taking over the lead for the next six laps. On lap 12 it was a hard charging Dalton Myers diving in turn two to take over the top spot but caution would come out sending Myers back to second and Powers the leader.

Caution would follow once again on lap thirteen as Todd Ford slowed in turn two with a right rear flat ending his night. So with just two laps remaining, Powers was holding on to first with Myers second. On the last lap in turn three, Myers would dive into turn three tangling with Powers which set up a big chain reaction with several cars piling up out of turn four. Myers would cross the line first but was dq’d for unsportsman like conduct.

Involved in the crash was Roger Crouse, Jason Pope and the eventual winner Dale Pope who was also involved in the crash. His car came to rest on the backstretch. “We were not supposed to win this race tonight, but we were in the right place at the right time” said an exhausted Pope.

“We hit hard,” as he was holding his ribs in Victory Lane without his car.

After all the wreckage was cleared it was Dale Pope your winner with J.R. Prather, Shane Koperda, Jason Russell and Tim Powers would finish fifth.

The final feature of the night belonged to the V8 Warriors. Winning their heats was Bill Whitney and Jeff Weaver and would also make up the front row for the feature. Bill Whitney took the early lead but on lap two the first caution for debris on the track.

When the race resumed it was on lap two as Joe Boyd lost a wheel in turn one ending his night. On lap three it was Whitney leading with Weaver second until Weaver spun in turn two and Whitney spinning on the backstretch. Whitney’s night had ended but Weaver was able to continue. That would put third place runner Ron Smith as the leader.

On lap five it was Brian Danforth taking over the lead and crossing the line first, but in tech was dq’d for no muffler. Ron Smith would get the win with Raymond Folwell, Jeff Weaver, Tim Stoffel, and Brett Phillips rounding out the top five.

Previous articleHoltgraver Scores At Mercer
Next articleTwo VMS Late Model Winners
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.