Ziehl Soars To Canyon ASCS Win


PEORIA, Ariz. — Rick Ziehl and Jason Noll were among Saturday night’s feature winners at the third annual Father’s Day Classic atop the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval by taking wins in winged ASCS Southwest Sprint Car and IMCA Modified action, respectively.

While Ziehl bested the first appearance of the year for the winged ASCS Southwest Sprint Car forces and Noll topped the IMCA Modified ranks, other winners included Jesse Turner in LoanMart Challenge Cup non-wing sprint car action, Joe Scheopne in Micro Sprints, Steve Kapaun in dwarf cars and John Romero in the renegades.

With the ASCS Southwest Region making its first stop of the year at CSP, reigning champion Ziehl raced to his second series score of the year from the front row outside in front of eighth-starter R.J. Johnson, with Colby Copeland, Billy Chester III and Bob Ream, Jr., rounding out the top five.

Jason Noll raced from the fourth position for his third IMCA Modified win of the year at CSP by taking the checkered flag ahead of Ricky Thornton, Jr., with Jay Foster, George Fronsman and Anthony Madrid next across the line.

Jesse Turner raced from seventh for his first LoanMart Challenge Cup non-wing sprint car feature win of the year ahead of fellow fourth-row starter Matt Lundy while Gene Gile, Johnny Shelton, Jr., and 12th-stater Jacob Hawkins filled out the top five.

Joe Scheopne was also a first time winner at CSP for 2013 by taking the micro sprint Car feature win from the front row outside ahead of pole starter Dustin Cormany and Brandon Hacker, while Steve Kapaun bested the Dwarf Car ranks from fifth ahead of 12th-starter Brian Stehr and polesitter Daniel Lamm.

Despite starting scratch in the 16-car renegade field, John Romero remained undefeated by racing from eight rows deep for his third CSP triumph in as many tries with Paul O’Connor and Richard Bennett next across the line.


Previous articleGerchman Romps In Utah Modified Show
Next articleThomas Continues MSCS Hot Streak
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.