Youth Reigns At Skagit Speedway

Youth Reigns
Colby Thornhill in victory lane. (Skagit Speedway photo)

ALGER, Wash. – It was a coming of age night on Thursday for 14-year-old Colby Thornhill at Skagit Speedway.

The Enumclaw, Wash., driver became the youngest driver in track history to win a 360 sprint car main event.

Tyson Blood (Modifieds) and Cory Sweatman (Outlaw Tuner) were also feature winners.

The Budweiser 360 main event was almost won by Mother Nature. Jeff Dunlap set out to the early lead and held a strong advantage before Eric Fisher and Tyler Thompson got together, bringing out the red flag on lap five.

At the time, a light sprinkle turned heavier, forcing the cars off the track while officials made a plan for the weather. The rain lightened up, and cars came back to the track to roll the moisture back into the surface.

About 15 minutes after the cars were sent off, the track was back in race shape and the main event continued.

Dunlap resumed his march toward a potential first win, with Thornhill battling past Reece Goetz and into second place.

But as he came out of turn four to complete the 21st lap, Dunlap suddenly lost power and pulled into the infield, ending his run and giving the lead up to Thornhill.

A short three laps later, Thornhill crossed under the checkered flag and made Skagit Speedway history, with Goetz taking second and Devon Borden advancing from 16th to third. Chance Crum and Chase Goetz filled out the top five.

Tyson Blood had a dominant night in the Skagit Aggregates Modifieds, leading all 25 laps of the main event. Blood had a half track advantage nearly all race long.

Rick Smith and Craig Moore went hard for the runner up spot, with Smith eventually getting the nod and Moore settling for the third spot.

Meanwhile, Sweatman became two for two at Skagit Speedway in the Outlaw Tuner Class.

Sweatman took the lead from Adam Holtrop in lapped traffic on lap nine before running to the win. Holtrop and Rick Young rounded out the podium.

The finish:

360 Sprint Cars (25 laps): Colby Thornhill, Reece Goetz, Devon Borden, Chance Crum, Chase Goetz, Lance Sargent, Travis Jacobson, Michael Millard, Bailey Sucich, James Setters, Corbyn Fauver, Tyler Driever, Jason Bloodgood, Jeff Dunlap, Barry Martinez, Colton Heath, Tyler Thompson, Eric Fisher.