Wood, Lundy Score At Canyon


PEORIA, Ariz. – D.J. Wood and Matt Lundy took top honors on the final night of the Allscapes Back to School Special at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night.

While Wood took the $750 IMCA modified winner’s share and Lundy nabbed the $500 CSP Challenge Cup Sprint Car portion, other winners included Ricky Thornton, Jr., in Pure Stocks, Daniel Romero in Bombers, Chris Caldwell in X-Modifieds and Eddie Lamm in Dwarf Cars. Thornton, Jr., and Caldwell were the only drivers to sweep both feature wins in their respective classes over the weekend.

Wood took his second IMCA modified feature win of the year over Friday’s preliminary feature winner Guy Norton, with Mark Stewart, Jay Foster and Jeff Stafford rounding out the top five.

Lundy added his third Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature win of the year by advancing from sixth to take the checkered flag ahead of Johnny Shelton, Jr., with pole starter Tom Lee, Kiley Fellars and Lonnie Oliver rounding out the top five.

Ricky Thornton, Jr., backed up Friday’s win by racing from fifth to take another checkered flag in front of Steve Bitting, Ty Weidner, Danny Curry and Matt Martinez.

The Bombers offered up another Romere one-two finish, but this time it was Daniel turning the tables on John for his second win of the year. Daniel Romero and John Romero were chased across the line by Joe Peterson, 13th-starter Doug Clark and 17th-starter Joe Setelin.

Chris Caldwell claimed his second X-Modified win in as many nights, racing from the pole position to win in front of Brandon Franken and Jake Johnson.

Daniel Lamm raced from 11th for his first Dwarf Car win of the year at CSP, with A.J. Breau, 23rd-starter Brian Hattlestad, Brian Stehr and Eric Muse rounding out the top five.