Thompson Claims KCRP Street Stock Win


BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – Kern County Raceway Park hosted six different divisions of racing on a cool and breezy Saturday night for their fourth round of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing, with Shane Thompson’s Super Stock win highlighting the busy night.

All thee tracks: the half-, quarter-, and one-eighth mile speedways were in action.

Thompson, driving a car that didn’t even have number stickers on it when he arrived at the track, claimed the Super Stock main event. Thompson came from the back of the field twice after spinning early in the race with front end damage. Tehachapi’s Gene Fife led the opening eight laps before tangling with Thompson and handing the lead to Howie Smith.

Zack Forster took over the lead on lap 11 before Thompson was able to make the decisive pass for the win on lap 13. Thompson claimed the win ahead of Zack Forster and Howie Smith the top-three finishers.

2013 CITGO Lubricants Late Model champion David Mayhew made quick work of the NASCAR Pro Late Model field to take his second win of the season in a 25 lap sprint race. Mayhew took over the lead from teammate Johnny White early in the event and never looked back, with Dallas Montes coming into third.

Kern County Probation Officer Bryan Terry won the 911 Racing Series main event ahead of pening night winner Detective Josh Stephens of Shafter Police Department. The race was highlighted by a multi-car crash on lap one that eliminated Taft Police, Kern County Fire, and Kern County Sheriff. Bakersfield police officer Gary Carruesco finished third.

Anthony Balcazar started last on the Senior Mini Dwarf field, but charged through to make a last lap pass on Jeremy Clark to take the 25 lap Sr. Mini Dwarf main event. The win made Balcazar two-for-two on the 2014 season. 2013 champion Jerry Flippo came home in third with Andrew Orlando rounding out a closely matched top-four.

Racin Vernon held off points leader Randy Smith for the NASCAR Mini Stock victory. Terry Pettit led the opening lap of the race in a three wide duel before Vernon broke through on lap two. Stacy Evans and Eric Aldridge tangled for a pair of cautions on lap 26, that set up a four lap shootout for the win. Vernon was able to get the win over Smith with rookie driver Stacy Evans persevering to come home third.

Taft’s Bailey Thompson became another first time winner at KCRP, taking the Jr. Mini Dwarf 25 lap feature in a green-white-checkered finish. Kabe McClenny spun from a comfortable lead to set up the restart with just two laps to go. McClenny was able to snake through the field in a wild restart, to still finish second while Kercie Jung finished third.

Previous articleHansen Finds Victory Lane At Fonda
Next articleGodown Banks New Egypt Money is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.