Starks Leads Final Lap At Skagit


ALGER, Wash. — Trey Starks led just the final lap of the 360 sprint car feature Saturday night at Skagit Speedway, but it was a memorable final restart.

After Luke Didiuk stalled on the backstretch on the final lap setting up the green, white and checkered flag finish Josh DeWitt had held point and looked to have a sure win. On the restart Starks dove to the bottom to get underneath DeWitt with Colton Heath going high to try and get around on top. DeWitt returned the favor as did Heath and the three swapped the lead corner after corner with Starks leading DeWitt and Heath at the final checkered. Heath and Brock Lemley won the heat races with Kelsey Carpenter setting fast time at 11.779.

In the Sportsman Sprint division defending champion Steve Parker looks to have another title locked up as he won the main event to extend his point lead. It looks like all Parker has to do on championship night is take the green to win the title. Heat race wins went to Bill Rude and Zach McCabe. Devin Barnes set fast time at 12.519.

First-time visitors to the race track the Outlaw Street Stocks ran three very entertaining events. In the heat races Jack Parshall and Mike Knox, Jr. were the winners. For the main event the top five ran virtually nose to tail and wheel to wheel for all 25 laps with Matt Babcock picking up his second win of the season in his rookie year and holding off Jason Tole and Parshall for the win. Excellent racing throughout the field and the fans giving a thumbs up to having them return next season.

In the Outlaw Tuner division point leader Rick Young has all but wrapped up his first championship season with tonight’s main event win. Young took over the lead late in the race when Matt Ploeg suffered mechanical woes ending his race night. The heat race wins went to the two youngest drivers in the field Becky Boudreau and Clint Meins.