Smith Earns First Skagit Triumph


ALGER, Wash. – Kevin Smith led all 25-laps of the 410 sprint-car race Saturday night at Skagit Speedway to earn his first victory in the division.

Setting fast time in the 410 sprint for the first time this season was Colton Heath with an 11.564 second lap around the high banked three-tenths-mile clay oval. Travis Jacobson won the heat race. In the main Smith won the drag race to the first turn and was never headed. Jacobson worked his way from fourth starting to second early on and was reeling Smith in at the end but unable to close the deal.

For Smith it was his first ever 410 Sprint win after joining the division a few years back. Jacobson, Toni Lutar, Barry Martinez and point leader Eric Fisher rounded out the top five.

With the exception of point leader Trevor Turnbull setting fast time at 12.065, Kelsey Carpenter would have had a clean sweep. Carpenter led every lap of his heat and the main to pick up the win in the 360 Sprints. Turnbull was the other heat winner.

In the Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprints Bill Rude and Ashley Lewellen won the heat races. The main event turned out to be a race of attrition with just half the field finishing.

Ben Gunderson led the first two laps then pulled off the track onto the back apron with a mechanical issue handing the lead to Cory Swatzina. Swatzina was heavily pressured by Derek Roberts, Zach McCabe and James Bundy through most of the race. In the end it was Swatzina, Roberts, McCabe, Bundy and point leader Steve Parker as the top five.

Point leader Freddie Vela was unbeatable tonight in the main event. Vela led all 17 laps more than a full straight away ahead of second in points Rick Young. Brandon Berg rounded out the podium with a third place finish just ahead of Clint Meins.

Berg and Meins had the race of the night racing for the final trophy spot. Heat race wins went to Young and Matt Ploeg.