Ryan Rules Deming Speedway


DEMING, Wash. — After a one-week hiatus, Deming Speedway was back in action on Friday, with Hoosier & Speedmart sponsoring the racing action.

On Friday, it was Liam Ryan picking up the win in the night’s finale, with other victors Clennon Holloway, Kyle Mitchell, Jesse Schlotfeldt and Ronnie Cox joining him in victory lane. Racing weather was at an all time best for near mid-September, with race day temperatures topping out at 82 degrees on a cloudless sky kind of day.

Things broke the right way for Langley, BC native Liam Ryan in the Hoosier Speedmart 600 division. After running the entirety of the opening lap wheel to wheel with defending division champ Dustin O’Brien, Ryan used the speed he’d built in turns one and two to secure the lead entering turn three on the second lap to take the point for the remainder of the race. Lapped traffic looked like it might play a big role, but luck had it that the drivers Ryan was lapping gave him little trouble as he ran past them. O’Brien came home second and Chase Schmidt was third. Heat race wins went to Chase Schmidt, Hayden Schmidt, Greg Hamilton and Aaron Fell. Jared Peterson was the fast qualifier.

Clennon Holloway visited victory lane in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 class, leading all 25 laps of the feature while holding off Jared Gunderson and Liam Ryan. Brock Lemley and Eric Drake won the heat races. Ryan set quick time.

Kyle Mitchell turned in a dominating performance in the 600 Restricted class, leading all 25 laps of the main event with almost no challenge over the course of the feature. Mitchell was followed to the line by Dylan Resch and Tristin Thomas.

Jesse Schlotfeldt extended his incredible winning ways by picking up his 14th feature of 2012 in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Lynden Lebedinski was second with Sawyer Sorgenfrei finishing third. Schlotfeldt made it a clean sweep with a heat win and quick time. Bradley Parks won the other heat race.

Shifter Karts made their only appearance of 2012 at Deming Speedway, and former Deming Speedway Clay Cup Nationals Champion Ronnie Cox used his knowledge of the 1/6 mile clay oval to his advantage in taking the main event win and setting quick time as well. Cox may have had a clean sweep if not for a mechanical failure that knocked him out of the heat race while leading it. Aaron Elton and Kevin McLeod finished second and third and won the heat races.


Previous articleWOO: Gold Cup Night 2
Next articleBlaney Makes Port Royal History
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.