Richardson Wins Race, Mayhew Kern County Champ

Brian Richardson won Saturday's late-model feature at Kern County Raceway Park.
Brian Richardson won Saturday's late-model feature at Kern County Raceway Park.
Brian Richardson won Saturday’s late-model feature at Kern County Raceway Park.

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – Kern County Raceway Park’s KUZZ Night at the Races saw Brian Richardson take his second NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model win in another duel with David Mayhew.

Mayhew’s second place finish clinched the inaugural track championship at the brand-new half-mile oval.

Brian Richardson won the race on the 13th birthday of his daughter as well. Ricky Schlick, Dylan Baker, and Ryan Vargas each won their third races of the season in quarter-mile action.

Johnny White led the first four laps of the 50 lap feature before the caution came out for Gary Elmore and Robby Sawyer making contact in turn one. On the restart, Mayhew stormed to the lead with Richardson in tow. On lap 17, White spun in turn four from third place. On the restart, White went on the move and was back into third by lap 24.

Mayhew led 28 laps before Richardson took command of the race on lap 34. Richardson and Mayhew ran closely over the next 10 laps before heavy lapped traffic closed the gap to one car length. Richardson crossed the stripe with a .300 second win with third place going to White.

“This is awesome. The first win we had this year David had trouble in that race. I wanted to drive by him and beat him like we did tonight. Our car was terrible earlier today and my guys did a heckuva job. This is one of my most special wins ever.”

Claremont’s Ricky Schlick scored his third INEX Legends win this season by taking the 30 lap race. Schlick led all 30 laps with points leader Buddy Shepherd in close pursuit. After a lap 25 restart, Shepherd tagged the backstretch wall and was scored eighth in the final rundown.

Bakersfield’s Blaine Perkins fended off fellow Bakersfield driver Brandon Weaver to finish second. The top-three cars all race for car owner Tony Green Motorsports.

La Mirada’s Ryan Vargas overcame an early race crash to win his third straight INEX Bandolero main event. Vargas came together with Northern California visitor Dylan Washburn, and charged through the pack after making repairs.

Vargas took the lead from fast time qualifier Colton Page on lap 16 to lead the final four laps. Vargas was one of four different leaders in a busy race on the quarter-mile inner track.

“Oh my God I thought it was over after I got collected over there in turn four,” Vargas said. “It worked out pretty good. Colton had a good freaking car. It was hard to pass him and he is such a good driver.”

Dylan Baker led all 30 laps for the NASCAR Mini Stocks, taking his third win of the season. After the lone caution of the race on lap two, Baker ran nose-to-tail with points leader Billy Lay to the finish. Baker’s victory was a scant .659 seconds in the fast-paced event.

Previous articleFall Brawl Kicks Off At Shangri-La
Next articleClaar Roars To Langley Glory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.