Repeat Winners At Deming


DEMING, Wash. — It was a night filled with familiar faces visiting Deming Speedway’s victory lane on Friday night as Special T Signs & Graphics / North Coast Credit Union night main events were all won by repeat winners.

Derek Torkelson, Jared Gunderson, Austin Sheridan and Jesse Schlotfeldt all took victories at the sixth-mile clay oval on the hottest night in the Pacific NW this year.

In the Hoosier Speedmart 600 class, Derek Torkelson went wire to wire for the feature win after setting quick time earlier in the evening and rolling a zero for the invert. Torkelson held off a hard charging Jared Peterson and Spud Allen to score the victory, halting Peterson’s three-week win streak in the process.

Jared Gunderson found Victory Lane for the first time since opening night in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Gunderson, equipped with the better of his two engines after sourcing and fixing a transmission problem with it, led every of the main without being challenged seriously over the 25 lap duration. Eric Drake charged to second and Tyson Cross was third. Liam Ryan set quick time.

Austin Sheridan has been on a tear in the 600 Restricted class, picking off another feature win on Friday night. Sheridan led all 25 laps from the pole position to secure the victory. Tristin Thomas finished second and Kyle Mitchell was third. Thomas set quick time.

Win number 12 is in the books for Jesse Schlotfeldt in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Jesse went from 4th to first on the opening lap to pick up the win, extending his streak of not finishing outside the top three positions on the year. Lynden Lebedinski picked up second and Sawyer Sorgenfrei was third.


Previous articleHannagan Rolls On At Lima
Next articleThunder Stocks At Ocala is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.