Racers Chow Down During Delta Turkey Bowl

Brandon Carey won the Super 600 portion of Delta Speedway’s Turkey Bowl. (ThatPictureGuy.net Photo)

STOCKTON, Calif. – Brandon Carey, James Ringo, and Garth Kasiner added to their huge Delta Speedway resumes while Dalton Parreira began to build his own, as the four drivers snared victories in Turkey Bowl XVII on Saturday night.

The lucrative event paid $14,000 in guaranteed prize money for Micro Sprint competition at Delta Speedway.

The seventh-mile dirt oval on the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds played host to 99 cars over the two days of action with qualifiers and heat races on Friday night giving the drivers points towards Saturday’s activities.

The 46 car Non-Wing competition was led out of Friday by Ringo, who then won the Pole Shuffle among the top-six cars that battled for the pole position. Ringo led the 22 car, 40 lap feature to green

Ringo – who won June’s Speedweek main event at Delta as well – led the main early while Tristan Guardino and Shawn Laeber traded blows early for fourth. The top-five cars closed up a bit in lapped traffic on lap 13. Guardino tangled with lapped car John Bordenave for the first caution on lap 18. Guardino was sent back two positions for rough driving.

Chris Hinkle surrendered four positions on a lap 22 restart dropping from fifth to ninth while up front it was still Ringo and 2017 track champion Koen Shaw comfortably ahead of the battle for third. Shawn Laeber took the third spot from Dalton Hill and tried to close the gap on the leaders in lapped traffic.

In the final five laps of the main event, Shaw tried a few times to show his nose to Ringo and also jumped the cushion in turn three. Ringo used that to pull away for the $1500 victory ahead of Shaw, Laeber, Brandon Carey, and Dan Mognaga. Mognaga was the race’s hard charger as well.

Brandon Carey’s Super 600 victory added to his impressive stretch at Delta including a sweep of both the Super 600 and Non Wing track championships a year ago. Reigning track champion Jake Andreotti won the pole shuffle ahead of Carey and also led the opening lap of the 40 lap feature. Sixth starting Kyle Mentch spun in turn two for the first caution early on lap two.

Lapped traffic started to appear by lap eight as top-four had a distant advantage on the balance of the field. A caution slowed the action before seeing Nikko Panella’s charge from the 13th to seventh, but he had to back pedal a little bit when he fell back around tenth in turns three and four.

The exclamation point of the race came on lap 14 when Dan Bava spun into the turn one wall. Bava was hit hard by race leader Andreotti. Third place Travis Labat, 2014 track champion, hit the wall trying to avoid as well with all three drivers unfortunately out of the race.

The incident handed the race lead to Carey ahead of Washington’s Kaitlyn Hammer. Fresno’s Koen Shaw found himself sixth after starting 15th as well.

Brad Hannum drove hard for the second spot chasing Hammer and finally flipped in turn three for a red on lap 31. Chance Crum from eighth navigated through the pack to be up to third with nine laps to go. Michael Laughton had driven from 20th to fifth as well. Hammer did not have a good restart with nine laps to go, which bottled up Crum into a battle with Alex Panella and the charging Laughton.

Crum kept third after some three wide battling, before late contact with Panella sent him back to fourth at the checkered flag. Carey claimed the big prize ahead of Hammer, Panella, Crum, and hard charger Michael Laughton.

Garth Kasiner finished up a sweep of everything major at Delta Speedway by winning the $1,000, 35-lap Restricted Turkey Bowl. Kasiner won the track championship along with King of California and the California Speedweek in a huge season.

Caeden Steele came out of Friday night as the high point driver and led from the pole in the straight up start. Kasiner settled into second before meeting former Jr. Sprint foe Dylan Bloomfield briefly before pulling away. Thomas Vo and Jeffrey Pahule each had a pair of spins that slowed the action and the battling up front. Once some green flag running got underway, some great action unfolded.

Steele and Kasiner ran wheel-to-wheel with Kasiner doing a nice job to make the outside work for several laps in the challenge. The outside attempts worked as Kasiner took the lead on lap 20 in a remarkable pass.

Kasiner drove off for the victory with Steele second ahead of Bloomfield, Ashlyn Rodriguez, and Corey Day.

The youngest drivers in the Jr. Sprints had an exciting extra-distance 30-lap Turkey Bowl that paid $750 to win. A tight wheel banging start got things started for the feature but then cars started spinning deeper in the pack for a caution before a lap was completed.

Selena Little had her second spin in turn two not long after, collecting Ryder Velasquez and unfortunately both had their nights ended early. Lucas Mauldin spun from fifth for a lap three caution as well.

Two-time track champion Isabel Barnes challenged polesitter Karter Velasquez on the restart. She flipped trying to challenge to bring out a red flag. Barnes was able to continue but had to work from the back of the field.

A multi-car crash on the backstretch stopped racing with a red flag on lap 11 as well but all cars involved were uninjured.

Dalton Parreria took the lead from Velasquez on the lap 12 restart while 2017 King of California Wyatt Bookout tried to pass Caleb Debem from the outside for third. The scrum for second was entertaining when they went three-wide and Debem nabbed the spot from Velasquez.

Parreira led the final 18 laps to win the feature ahead of Bookout, Debem, Velasquez, and James Anderchuk.