Norton, Williams Rule Canyon Run


PEORIA, Ariz. – Guy Norton and Derrick Williams were among the winners on the opening night of the Allscapes Back to School Special at Canyon Speedway Park on Friday night.

While Norton and Williams both picked off their first CSP wins of the year in IMCA Modified and Challenge Cup Sprint Car action, other Friday night winners included Ricky Thornton, Jr., in the Pure Stocks, John Romero in Bombers and Chris Caldwell in X-Modifieds.

After winning the “B” Main earlier in the night, Norton rallied from the 16th starting position to snare the IMCA Modified feature win in front of third-row starter George Fronsman, with 14th-starter Jay Foster, D.J. Wood and Jim Collinsworth rounding out the top five.

Williams snared CSP Sprint Cup honors from the pole starting position with point leader Matt Lundy, Johnny Shelton, Jr., Lonnie Oliver and Kiley Fellars rounding out the top five.

Thornton, Jr., added a Pure Stock triumph to a previous pair of Modified wins by capitalizing on the pole position. Thornton, Jr., took the checkered flag ahead of John Thomas, with Danny Curry, Marlowe Wrightsman and Joe Vlasity rounding out the top five.

John Romero raced from the front row to his second Bomber win of the year in front of Daniel Romero, Nick Langer, Joe Peterson and Justin Bishop, while Chris Caldwell claimed his first X-Modified triumph of the season ahead of Jake Johnson and Jason George.