Noll & Shipley Lead CSP Victors


PEORIA, Ariz. – Jason Noll and Josh Shipley were among the headliners as a total of 110 cars filled the pit area for Saturday night’s Spring Speed Event at the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval near Phoenix.

While Noll raced from five rows deep for another IMCA Modified score and Shipley raced from seventh for his second consecutive LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car triumph, other winners on the night included Bo Partain in Viper Smart Start Pure Stock action, Dustin Cormany in Micro Sprints and John Romero in Renegades.

Working forward from the ninth starting position, Noll notched his second Modified win in a row by taking the checkered flag ahead of third row starter Ricky Thornton, Jr., with 12th-starter Tim Ward, George Fronsman and Anthony Madrid rounding out the top five.

Shipley raced from the fourth row to capture his second Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature win of the year in front of Johnny Shelton, Jr., with pole starter Jacob Hawkins, Dean Colquette and Mike Visser rounding out the top five.

Carrying the hot hand in Pure Stock action with three wins in as many Winter Challenge events, Bo Partain picked up right where he left off by racing from seventh to take top honors ahead of Ryan Eaden, Chris McCurdy, Jr., Steve Shumaker and “B” Main winner Lee Morrell, who climbed from 17th to round out the top five.

A winner of two Winter Challenge features in the Micro Sprint Car ranks, Dustin Cormany raced from the fourth starting position to take another checkered flag ahead of 11th-starter Dennis Carrier with Jacob Hawkins, Jason Grady and Tyler Ybarra filling out the top five.

John Romero came from the second row outside as well to top the first Renegade feature event of the year in front of Don Berner, Paul O’Connor, Richard Bennett and Brandy McCurdy.

Previous articleAMASX: Reliant Stadium
Next articleLafferty Scores At Port Royal is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.