Noll & Shelton Headline At Canyon


PEORIA, Ariz. – Jason Noll and Johnny Shelton Jr., were among the headliners during Saturday’s American Armed Forces Appreciation Night atop the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While Noll nabbed another IMCA Modified score and Shelton, Jr., picked off his first LoanMart Challenge Cup Non-Wing Sprint Car victory, other winners over the course of the night included Joe Scheopner in Micro Sprints, Anthony Madrid in Viper Smart Start Pure Stock action, John Romero in Renegade competition and Mike Strobel in Dwarf Cars.

Jason Noll moved closer to the top spot in track IMCA Modified points with his third triumph in the last four outings by racing from the fourth row outside to take the checkered flag ahead of Guy Norton with George Fronsman, Anthony Madrid and James Webster in the top five.

Johnny Shelton, Jr., raced from the eighth starting position as well to snare his first LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car win of the year in front of 10th-starter Michael Colegrove, Matt Lundy, Josh Shipley and Tanner Grau.

Joe Scheopner raced from the pole position to snare his second Micro Sprint win of the season ahead of fellow front row starter Dave Van Ess, with Colton Hardy, Aaron Miller and Tyler Dean in the top five.

Just like Noll and Shelton, Jr., Madrid came from the eighth starting position to win his third Viper Smart Start Pure Stock feature win in a row ahead of fellow fourth-row starter Matt Martinez with 13th-starter Chris McCurdy, Jr., Ryan Eaden and Steve Bitting in the top five.

A ninth row starting position didn’t prevent John Romero from remaining undefeated in Renegade action as he raced from 18th to make it four-for-four by crossing the stripe ahead of ninth-starter Jason Crowe, Paul O’Connor, Trenton Setelin and Brandy McCurdy.

In Dwarf Car action, Mike Strobel advanced from sixth to claim his first CSP win of the year ahead of Eddie O’Neil, Daniel Lamm, Steve Kapaun and Jeff Ekery.

Previous articleWebb & Hemken Split Macon Features
Next articleUSAC SPRINTS: Kokomo Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.