Mayhew Sweeps Up At Kern County


BAKERSFIELD, Calif. — NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model point leader David Mayhew scored his ninth and 10th wins of the year in sweeping the 35-lap features Saturday night at Kern County Raceway Park.

Other winners on the night included Racin Vernon in the mini stocks and street stocks were won by Rich Delong III.

The first late model 35-lap event was marred by a six car opening lap crash down the backstretch. Second row starters Kyle Heckman and Trevor Schlundt got tangled up sideways at the end of the straightaway, and the ensuing melee saw Gary Elmore, Johnny White, Eric Richardson, and Brian Richardson all suffering various degrees of damage.

Elmore and Brian Richardson were unable to continue on for the rest of the evening.

Eric Richardson did not pit and restarted from the pole position to lead the event. Mayhew was slated to start ninth but restarted third after the crash, and challenged Richardson in a great battle.

Despite front-end damage, Richardson ran side-by-side with Mayhew for several laps before lap five when Mayhew broke free. Richardson pitted under the next caution and stormed back through the pack to take second from White on lap 18.

Mayhew won comfortably by 5.767 seconds over Richardson, White, Ryan McDonald and Josh Horn.

“(Down the backstretch) it narrows up a lot but I hate it for those guys,” Mayhew said about the melee. “The inverts are what they are; you just have to be careful from back there.”

The second 35-lap race opened with Heckman on the pole with outside pole sitter Schlundt drifting back to fifth out of the gate. Mayhew wasted little time going to the front, taking over the top position on lap two.

On lap seven, Heckman and McDonald got together entering turn one in a battle for third. The pair went up into the wall head on, suffering heavy damage on both vehicles.

The restart opened up the door for Eric Richardson to challenge Mayhew, staying in tow with Mayhew through the halfway point of the event before fading by 10 car lengths

Mayhew crossed the stripe with a 1.245 second win ahead of Richardson, White, Horn, and Schlundt to round out the top five.

Racin Vernon scored his second mini stock win in the 40-lap race spread out over two 20-lap segments. Randy Smith led the first five laps of the race before Vernon scooted by for the lead while points leader Billy Lay and Smith tangled for second behind them.

Lay came back to second by the halfway break and on the restart ran side-by-side with Dylan Baker for several laps. Lay broke free and chased down Vernon, but Vernon claimed a .605 second win with Baker, Fine, and Smith the top-five.

“We’ve been working hard on this car to get it fast,” Vernon said. “All of a sudden (Lay) was in my mirror and I was saying ‘Please, where is the white flag?'”

Rich Delong III continued to be perfect in street stock competition, taking a 15-lap contest that was affected by heavy mechanical attrition. The non-points class in 2013 had five vehicles enter, but only two finish the race with Perrin Koostra coming home in second.