It’s Johnson Again At Canyon Speedway


PEORIA, Ariz. — R.J. Johnson added another USAC Southwest triumph to the ledger by topping Saturday night’s third annual Canyon Clash main event atop the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While the Phoenix shoe added his second consecutive series score atop the CSP clay, other drivers picking up Canyon Clash victories included Josh Shipley in the LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car ranks, Dustin Cormany in Micro Sprints and John Priest in the AMA Mod Lites.

Johnson raced to his third overall Hose Advantage “A” Main triumph of the year at CSP from the seventh starting position, taking the checkered flag ahead of 12th-starter Bryan Swinehart, Chris Bonneau, 14th-starter Nathan High and Justin Quinn.

Josh Pelkey, Nick Aiuto, High and Johnson topped Racers Advantage heat race action for the 28-car USAC Southwest field with Andrew Reinbold winning the “B” Main.

Josh Shipley remained undefeated in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action by racing to his third consecutive victory from five rows deep, crossing the stripe ahead of Tom Lee with Johnny Shelton, Jr., Matt Lundy and Jacob Hawkins rounding out the top five.

Starting from the pole position, Dustin Cormany added his fourth Micro Sprint win of the year at CSP in front of fellow front row starter Ryan Walter with Dennis Carrier, Adam Milsap and 19th-starter Jacob Hawkins filling out the top five.

John Priest added his second AMA Mod Lite score in as many tries by racing from fifth for the win ahead of Brenden Priedt, Mike Martin, Ken Young and Nick Gann.


Previous articleAMASX: Rice-Eccles Stadium
Next articleEldora Kicks Off 60th Season is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.