It’s Devon Borden Again At Skagit Speedway

It's Devon Borden Again
Devon Borden in victory lane. (Skagit Speedway photo)

ALGER, Wash. – Despite a travel day to remember, Devon Borden put together a flawless night of racing to become the first repeat winner in Budweiser 360 sprint car action at Skagit Speedway on KPro Auto Night at the Races.

The seventh week of Skagit Speedway TV also saw main event wins from Kelsey Carpenter (Sportsman Sprints) and Jared Peterson (NW Focus Midgets).

Borden suffered through two automobile malfunctions on the way up to the track from his home in Raymond, Wash.

After tires blew out on his rig not once but twice, Borden leaned on a friend to hustle him through I-5 traffic and to Skagit Speedway just 10 minutes before qualifying began.

From the time Borden stepped into the race car, the night improved massively, as he’d set quick time and came from fourth to second in his heat race.

Starting sixth in the main, Borden had his car moving from the get go, throwing slider after slider in working up to second and in behind leader Michael Millard.

As Millard descended into traffic, Borden took his shot, using a short slide at the entrance of turn three to take the top spot as he crossed the transponder loop to complete lap nine.

From there, Borden was untouchable, building a near half track advantage as he took the checkered flag.

The race from second back was intense all race long, with Robbie Price advancing from seventh to take the runner up position, and Tyler Thompson earning a hard fought third.

Carpenter collected his first feature win of 2020 by leading every lap of the Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprints main event.

Carpenter enjoyed a sizable lead for most of the contest before Jesse Schlotfeldt and Eric Turner closed late. While traffic made things intriguing, Carpenter fended off a big last lap attempt from Schlotfeldt and a rapidly closing Turner to take the win.

The NW Focus Midget main event went wire to wire without a stoppage in an entertaining 25-lap affair. Peterson made a big swing into the lead on lap four and was untouchable the rest of the way in scoring the win in the Inlaws Racing No. 32.

Shane Smith took second and was not challenged for that spot until late, when Nik Larson came up to threaten him after advancing from 11th.

The finish:

360 Sprint Cars (25 laps): 1. Devon Borden, 2. Robbie Price, 3. Tyler Thompson, 4. Cam Smith, 5. Greg Hamilton, 6. Chance Crum, 7. Chase Goetz, 8. Colby Thornhill, 9. Michael Millard, 10. Ashleigh Johnson, 11. Tyler Anderson, 12. Jeff Dunlap, 13. Chris Bullock, 14. Bailey Sucich, 15. Brian Boswell, 16. Eric Rockl, 17. Travis Jacobson, 18. Corbyn Fauver.

Lap Leaders: Michael Millard 1-8, Devon Borden 9-25.