Irwin Doubles His Las Vegas Fun


LAS VEGAS – Jason Irwin made the most of his drive from New Mexico to Las Vegas Saturday night, posting feature victories in both the NASCAR Grand American Modified and USLCI Legend Car divisions at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Irwin, of Albuquerque, led flag to flag in the 40-lap Grand American Modified feature, cruising to nearly a four-second victory over Kyle Cline of Hesperia, Calif. In the 25-lap Legend Car main event, Irwin led three times for 12 laps, passing Las Vegas native Chris Trickle for the lead on the final lap for a .160-second margin of victory over Peyton Saxton of Las Vegas. Trickle finished third. Irwin also won the Legend Car feature last week at the Bullring.

“The biggest challenge was when I missed a gear on that start and put us back in kind of a position which almost was trouble,” Irwin said of his Modified win. “But we got out of it and this car was just about perfect tonight. I can’t thank the crew enough; they had this thing perfect.”

Doug Hamm of Las Vegas was third in the Modified feature, Scott Osborne of Las Vegas was fourth and Henderson’s Pat Petrie was fifth.

Nathan Boss of Logandale won the caution-filled 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature when race leader Don Sargent and Aaron McMorran got tangled up when another car spun on lap 10 and brought out the caution. Boss grabbed the lead and fought off a hard-charging Michael Greve for the final 16 laps. McMorran recovered from his contact with Sargent and finished third while Sargent took fourth. Jim Merlino was fifth. Boss, Sargent and Cayla Bronston won the Bomber heat races.

Christine Breckenridge of Riverside, Calif., grabbed the lead from Michael Fanelli on the 11th of 30 laps and held on to earn her first career USAC HPD Midget Series victory. Jeff Kelley of Eden, Utah, was second and Fanelli, of Rio Rancho, N.M, was third. Breckenridge and Kelley were the Midget heat-race winners.

Ian Anderson of Las Vegas continued his domination of the USLCI Thunder Car division, winning his second race of the season after winning all 12 events en route to the track championship in 2013. This victory didn’t come easy for Anderson, who started seventh in the eight-car field. He worked his way to the front on lap 13 of the 25-lap race and then pulled away for a commanding 4.513-second victory over Travis Boyle of North Las Vegas. Las Vegans Brian Reed was third, Ron Reed took fourth and Chris Bosley was fifth.

Mason Sargent won his second consecutive Bandolero Bandits feature event, leading all 12 laps and posting a comfortable three-second victory over Dezel West. Kyle Keller was third, Tye O’Hanley was fourth and RJ Smotherman took fifth.

In the 12-lap Bandolero Outlaws feature, Philip Root of Las Vegas also led wire to wire but had to fend off a furious challenge from Kyle Jacks to post his first victory of the season. Jacks took second and Joey Paonessa was third.