Heath Rolls To Skagit Triumph


ALGER, Wash. – Sun drenched Skagit Speedway saw Colton Heath pick up his second win of the season in the 360 Sprint Car division.

The employees of both Janicki Industries/Janicki Logging and Fastenal were on hand to watch as Heath was joined in victory lane by Cory Samuelson in the Sportsman Sprints and Matt Powers in the Outlaw Tuners.

At the drop of the green flag in the 360 Sprint main, Justin Youngquist set out to the lead with Heath a couple of car lengths behind. Heath showed a nose off the bottom of turn two twice, but never got a big enough run as Youngquist was good off the top in turn two. The race was delayed three times in the early going, with Steve James spinning out on lap two and five and Phil Schemenauer causing the final caution of the race with a spin in turn four on lap seven.

The rest of the race went uninterrupted with Youngquist in front and Heath keeping him within striking distance until the pair reached traffic. With slower traffic looming on lap 14, Heath made a bold move again to the inside of turn one, and Youngquist, who was passing a slower car on the high side, drifted too far up track to make a solid exit on turn two. Heath powered down the back straightway and into the lead at the point, as he continued to try and pass slower traffic.

Tayler Malsam was within five car lengths around lap 20, but Heath kept his cool and held on to win his second main event of the year and extend his points lead in the division. Malsam, last week’s 410 winner, settled for second and Jason Solwold made a bold move in the final frame to score third. Malsam was your fast qualifier. The two heat race wins went to Mike Bollinger and Luke Didiuk.

Cory Samuelson drove a masterful race in the Sportsman Sprint division. Starting on the outside pole, Samuelson, the 17 year old from Lake Stevens, blasted into an early lead and was never seriously challenged and caution flags on lap eight and 12 kept him out of slower traffic for most of the event. Samuelson crossed the line on lap 20 to grab his second win of the year, followed by Tyler Fox and Cory Swatzina in the second and third positions. Steve Parker set quick time. Swatzina and Robbie Price won the heat races.

Matt Powers was also masterful in his navigation of Skagit Speedway in the Outlaw tuner division. Powers led every lap of the 17 circuit main event, with Brian Michelson and Brandon Berg hot on his tail for most of the contest. Powers hit his marks beautifully on the high side of the track in on e of, if not the only, rear wheel drive car in the division to score his first win in over a year. Berg passed Michelson late to claim second, relegating Brian to a podium finish in third. Heat race winners were Berg and Cliff Ballenger.

Previous articleHawkins, Trent Net Eldora Cash
Next articleMonster Trucks Invade Rocky Mountains
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.