Haase Rules The Bullring


LAS VEGAS — Alex Haase won his second NASCAR Super Late Model feature of the 2013 season Saturday at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Point leader Jay Beasley led the first 12 laps of the NASCAR Super Late Model nightcap until Alex Haase took command on lap 13. The caution flag flew on lap 43 when Joe Deguevara and Beasley made contact and spun in Turn 2. They were running third and fourth, respectively, and Deguevara was enjoying his best run of the season, running as high as second place during the first half of the 50-lap finale. Romain Thievin and Beasley made contact on the restart and the three-time winner began losing positions.

Haase held off Scott Gafforini and Thievin at the checkered flag for his second Bullring win of the 2013 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season. Deguevara finished fourth and Steve Anderson was fifth.

“We’ve worked hard all year on this car and now it’s beginning to show,” said Haase.

Vinny Raucci and Phil Goodwin started the 30-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature on the front row. The pair raced side by side for the first two laps until James Wingard made it a three-wide battle for first place on lap three. Goodwin grabbed the lead, followed by Wingard. Wingard took the lead on the next lap but was dogged by the perennial favorite from Henderson, The pair left the rest of the field behind as they battled for the lead. Goodwin tried every trick in the book but Bullring win No. 50 was not be tonight as Wingard held him off for the popular victory. Kayli Barker finished third. Chad Mattos and Vinny Raucci completed the top five.

The 20-car NASCAR Bomber feature was a wild affair from the opening green flag as the field barreled four-wide into turn one on the first lap. By lap nine, Michael Takami had opened a comfortable lead on Don Sargent in second place until Michael Ham spun in front of the leaders on the front chute. The leaders escaped the mishap but Takami’s cushion was erased. On the restart, Takami found himself in the middle of a three-wide battle down the back straightaway as Sargent took to the low groove as Pete Meyer traveled the high road. Sargent took the lead, followed by Meyer as Takami was dropped to third. The race boiled down to a green-white-checkered finish and Sargent held off Meyer for the win. Nathan Boss was third.

Jason Irwin won the 30-lap USLCI Legend Cars feature. Irwin was followed across the stripe by Peyton Saxton, J. Avila Jr., Zane Smith and Lacie Price.

Ian Anderson remains undefeated in the Thunder Car division. Shaun Polack finished second and Nick D’Egidio was third.

The 12-lap IAPMO Silver Star Plumbing PHCC Bandolero Outlaw feature was won by Ryan Vargas ahead of Kailey Boersma and Sam Jacks.

Bryant Dawson won the 30-lap USAC Ignite Midget feature.