Fisher Riding Skagit Hot Streak


ALGER, Wash. — Heading into the most important race of the 410 sprint car racing season at Skagit Speedway, Eric Fisher has now picked up a couple wins heading into the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup in two weeks.

Fisher led the final 20 laps of the 25-lap main for the win. Early race leader Kevin Smith spun in turn four, collecting second place Chad Hillier handing the lead to Fisher. Fisher got heavy pressure from Brock Lemley, Travis Jacobson and Jonathan Jorgenson who were all closing in traffic.

A lap-20 cautionflag took traffic out of play but closed the gap for the restart. Fisher pulled out for the win with Lemley second and Jacobson third. Winning the heat races were Kevin Smith and Jorgenson. Lemley set fast time at 11.456.

In the Sportsman Sprint division point leader Steve Parker set fast time at 12.717 with Curtis Clark and Bill Rude winning the heat races. Zach McCabe picked up his third win of the young season with a great outside move to pick up the win by passing Tyler Fox coming out of turn two on the opening lap. McCabe got into heavy traffic and had to hold off three green, white, checkered flag finishes for the win. Tyler Fox was second and Ben Gunderson picked up third.

The Shipwreck Beads Modifieds had their second winner in two races. Blair Shoemaker dueled with first race winner Craig Moore over the last five laps for the win. Moore won the heat race and was the hard charger for the main.

Ariel Biggs snapped the unbeaten streak of Chase Goetz in the USAC Ignite Midgets. Goetz had won the first two races of the season before tonight. Biggs commanded the race early, but traffic closed the gap on the top 4 in the closing laps. It was Biggs first win at Skagit Speedway.

For the Outlaw Tuner cars it seems like the podium lately has featured some combination of Rick Young, Freddie Vela and Brandon Berg. Tonight it was Young driving past Matt Ploeg on the third lap and into the lead. Berg started deep in the field after his win last week to finish third. Vela had to contend with Young and Ploeg to get to second.



Previous articleGeorge Rockets To Mercer Glory
Next articleDuane Howard Wins Another One is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.