Drake & Noll Score At Canyon Oval


PEORIA, Ariz. — The final night of Canyon Speedway Park’s Mr. Excitement 40 paying tribute to Terry Belcher lived up to its name with Steve Drake and Jason Noll snaring the limelight in Saturday night’s main events.

While Drake completed a sweep of the weekend’s West Coast Late Model action with his second win in as many nights and Noll raced from six rows deep to win the IMCA Modified feature as well as the track championship, other Saturday night winners included Matt Martinez in Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks, Chaz Baca, Jr., in Renegades and Steve Kapaun in Dwarf Cars.

Steve Drake parlayed his front row outside starting position into his second West Coast Late Model feature win in as many nights and third of the year, taking the checkered flag ahead of ninth-starter Garrett Alberson with Clay Daly, Bud Grossenbacher and Nick Bartels rounding out the top five.

With the IMCA Modified track championship hanging in the balance, the door opened for Jason Noll when point leader Ricky Thornton Jr., broke a ball joint lining up for the feature and was forced pitside.

Noll took quick advantage, racing from the 11th starting position to capture his fifth CSP win of the season ahead of Logan Drake with Anthony Madrid, Guy Norton and Mark Stewart rounding out the top five.

Matt Martinez completed a sweep of the weekend’s Viper Smart Start Pure Stock action by racing from sixth to take the checkered flag ahead of Ty Weidner, Chris McCurdy, Jr., Steve Bitting and Joe Vlasity.

Chaz Baca, Jr., climbed from the ninth starting position for his first Renegade win in front of John Romero with Joe Peterson, Daniel Romero and Joe Flewelling filling out the top five.

Steve Kapaun became the first repeat winner in Dwarf Car action at CSP by racing from the fourth row to take victory honors ahead of 12th-starter Ryan Hennessey, Jim Hock, Eddie O’Neil and Chad Stewart.



Previous articleFour Classes Hit Clay At The Bay
Next article11 Features At McKean County
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.