Deming Crowns Four Champions


DEMING, Wash. — On Les Schwab night at Deming Speedway, four new champions were crowned on the final night of action for 2012.

Spud Allen won the battle in the Hoosier Speedmart 600 division, taking the feature win while Derek Torkelson won the war, claiming the point title. Liam Ryan won his second championship at Deming Speedway and his first in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division by taking home the main event win. Tristin Thomas spoiled Austin Sheridan’s championship celebration by taking the lead and win from him on lap 22 of the 600 Restricted Main and Jesse Schlotfeldt capped off his incredible 2012 in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints with his 17th feature win and the point title.

Spud Allen finished off his best season to date in the Speedmart Hoosier 600 division with another feature win on Saturday night. While Allen was holding off a hard charging Liam Ryan over the course of the entire 30 lap feature, Derek Torkelson was finishing his finest season at Deming Speedway with a points title. Allen, Ryan and Torkelson were your top three finishers in the main with Torkelson winning the title by virtue of starting the A Main event. Allen also won the scramble. Robbie Price set quick time for the non-scramble cars. Madison Hess and Austin Sheridan won the heats.

Liam Ryan capped his championship run in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 class with a wire to wire main event win on Saturday night. Ryan captured the points title by virtue of starting the main event. Eric Drake finished second and Jared Gundersen was third. The title is Liam’s second at Deming, following a 600 Restricted title in 2010. Jacob Buckenmeyer was the fast qualifier with Ryan winning the scramble. Tony Helsel and Jason Bloodgood won the heats.

Austin Sheridan captured the 600 Restricted points title, but his celebration was spoiled slightly by Tristin Thomas, who won the feature after taking the lead from Austin on lap 22. Sheridan had the title wrapped up before the feature began and ended up second in the main with Chance Crum running third. Sheridan won the scramble and Ashley Thompson was the quick qualifier. Heat wins went to Thompson and Darius Walker-Perkins.

In what could be considered one of the greatest seasons in the history of Deming Speedway, Jesse Schlotfeldt recorded an astounding 17th win after starting dead last on the field in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. It was an incredible feat for Schlotfeldt, who’s 85% winning percentage of features started on the year is the most in recent memory at the sixth-mile clay oval. Sawyer Sorgenfrei was second and Bradley Parks third. Schlotfeldt won the scramble and elected to start the feature at the rear of the field. Tyson Lemley was the quick qualifier and heat race winner.