Calistoga Inducts Second HoF Class


CALISTOGA, Calif. – Eight former drivers, car owners and officials of Calistoga Speedway became the second class of inductees into the track’s Hall of Fame Friday night on the eve of the Louie Vermeil Classic.

They include:

– Johnny Anderson, a USAC veteran of sprint cars, midgets and dirt championship cars and the 1976 Calistoga Speedway champion;

– Mike Andreeta, affectionately known as “the Rat”, he won six consecutive races in a streak that has never been repeated to win the Calistoga Speedway championship;

– Hank Butcher, a former Bay Cities Racing Association midget champion and five-time feature winner at Calistoga Speedway;

– Mel Fernandez, a flagman and race director at many Northern California tracks known for his colorful showmanship as he directed the action from a position on the track;

– Hank Hanestad, a former car owner who fielded machines for many top championship drivers including Jan Opperman and Billy Anderson;

– George Hawkins, known as “dry slick,” prepared the Calistoga Speedway dirt for every race for decades before retiring in 1987;

– Mike McGreevy, a three time Bay Cities Racing Association midget champion and two time American Racing Association sprint car champion;

– Walt Ross, a car owner for such top of the line drivers as Gary Patterson, Lem Tolliver, Andreeta and Rendy Boldrini. His well known number 56 held the Calistoga Speedway track record for an amazing 10 years. Ross also succeeded Louie Vermeil in 1987 as the president of the former Northern Auto Racing Club;

– Lem Tolliver, a colorful driver who was well known for running half an inch off the wall, and who is a former Calistoga Speedway champion.