Busy Night Of Action At Deming Speedway


DEMING, Wash. – With the biggest race weekend of the year looming next week, the drivers at Deming Speedway had their game faces on for a sunny July Friday night of racing.

When the dust settled, Spud Allen, Steven Hendrickson and Tristin Thomas had huge momentum building wins in their divisions in their final tune up before next week’s Clay Cup Nationals. Lynden Lebedinski was also a winner heading into a week off for the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints.

With nothing short of full blown chaos going on behind him, Spud Allen picked up win number one of the year in the 600 Open division. It took five separate tries to get the feature started, but each time, Allen jumped out to a lead that would never be challenged, as he deftly navigated in and around traffic for all 25 laps on his way to the win.

Chase Schmidt was second and Liam Ryan scored third after an early race incident sent him to the back of the pack. Ryan set quick time and won a heat as well. Schmidt was also a heat race winner, as was Allen and Brandon Turner.

In what was a wild Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 Main, Steven Hendrickson ran down race leader Brock Lemley in heavy traffic to take his second victory of the 2013 campaign. Lemley led the first 18 laps before choosing the high line to get around a slower car in heavy traffic. This opened the door for Hendrickson, who shot to the inside of Lemley entering turn three.

With the lapper looming ahead, Hendrickson completed the pass and dispatched of the lapper in the same set of turns, securing the lead and some breathing room at the same time. Seven laps later, it was Hendrickson winning while still mired in heavy traffic, followed by Lemley and Jared Gundersen. Liam Ryan set quick time and won his heat. Lemley and Eric Drake were the other heat winners.

Tristin Thomas ran a perfect race to pickup his first win of the year in the 600 Restricted division. With a rapidly slicking off racetrack, Thomas hit his marks around the inside of the track with surgeon-like precision to lead all 25 laps for his first victory of the year. Jake Helsel was right on Thomas’ tail for the most of the race, but settled for third as Eli Schmidt passed him on the inside for second towards the tail end of the night. Jesse Schlotfeldt set quick time. Heat race wins went to Darius Walker-Perkins, Sawyer Sorgenfrei, Thomas and Brandee Wood.

Lynden Lebedinski has five feature wins on the year now in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Lebedinski led all 15 laps of the main relatively comfortably for the win, finishing ahead of Cain Cress and Cole Logan who joined him on the podium. For Lebedinski, it marked a clean sweep of the night as he was the fast qualifier and won his heat. Cress won the other heat race.

Previous articlePlanck Powers To Brewerton Score
Next articleMarquez Nabs German MotoGP Pole
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.