Beasley Stars At Vegas Bullring


LAS VEGAS – Jay Beasley won the 40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature and the 2013 points championship tonight at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The Super Late Model feature began with a bang as Kayli Barker, John Thomson, Dee Cable and Will Harper crashed on the front straightaway as the field took the green flag.

Four-time champion Scott Gafforini started second and grabbed the lead as Jay Beasley took second place from Justin Johnson. Dennis Rock Jr. spun in turn two on lap four to bring out the caution flag. Beasley powered past Gafforini on the restart to take the lead.

Beasley seemed destined to cruise to a comfortable victory until Warren Knipper spun on the front straightaway just as the white flag was thrown. Beasley’s 39-lap romp now was reduced to a green-white-checkered finish with Gafforini on his tail. Beasley held the lead on the restart and went on to win the feature and the title. Gafforini finished second and Mark Shackleford was robbed of a solid third-place finish by a flat tire on the final lap. Johnson was scored in third place and Rock Jr. and Shackleford completed the top five.

Phil Goodwin dominated the 30-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature, winning by more than the length of a straightaway over James Wingard. Matt Cunningham finished third. Kayli Barker, driving a wounded car thanks to an accident in her qualifying heat, raced her way into the Super Stock championship by finishing fourth.

Vincent Raucci Jr. took the lead on lap 11 of the 30-lap NASCAR Bomber feature but the race to watch was the three-car battle for second place between Michael Greve, Nathan Boss and Kirk Hance. Raucci sailed to victory by more than half of one lap. The end of the race nearly spelled disaster for the Greve-Hance-Boss trio as a pair of lapped cars spun and blocked most of the front chute just after Raucci took the checkered flag. Greve took second and Boss drove high on the track to take third place and avoid a wreck. Hance was fourth and Wade Pearson was fifth. Pete Meyer finished 10th and was crowned 2013 NASCAR Bomber champion.

The first 25-lap Legend Cars feature was won by Zane Smith. Chris Trickle grabbed second place at the finish line William Byron. Nick Halen and Dylan Cappelo completed the top five.

The second 25-lap Legend Cars feature was riddled with caution flags for spins and minor crashes. When the tire smoke cleared, William Byron was scored as the winner, with Zane Smith second and Nick Halen third.

Ian Anderson is undefeated at the Bullring at LVMS in the Thunder Car division. Tonight he won his 12th consecutive feature and also the points championship. J. Avila Jr. finished second and Joshua Quartaro was third.

The 12-lap IAPMO Silver Star Plumbing PHCC Bandolero Outlaw feature was won by Sam Jacks. Jacks took the lead on lap 11 from Brianna Holley. Dylin Smotherman finished second and Jacob Quartaro was third. Kailey Boersma, who crashed during the first lap of the feature, captured the points championship.

The 12-lap IAPMO Silver Star Plumbing PHCC Bandolero Bandit feature was won by Kyle Jacks. Caden Carlin finished second and also secured the points championship. Gianna Marretti finished third. Race leaders Dezel West and Phillip Root were involved in an accident on the back straightaway on lap five. West’s car turned over onto its roof but neither driver was injured. Prior to the crash, West and Root were second and third in points, respectively.