Beasley Claims First Las Vegas Triumph


LAS VEGAS – Jay Beasley scored his first Bullring NASCAR Super Late Model feature Saturday night at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Beasley prevailed in a late-race battle with four-time Bullring champion Scott Gafforini after the pair swapped the lead twice.

Gafforini led the first two laps of the 50-lap finale until the red flag flew when Dennis Rock Jr. crashed in Turn 1 after making contact with another car. Gafforini held the lead on the restart, followed by Jay Beasley and Joe Deguevara. The caution flag flew again on lap 30 when 2012 Rookie of the Year John Thomson crashed in Turn 3. Jay

Beasley challenged Gafforini on lap 32 and took the lead on lap 34 after running side-by-side with the race leader for two thrilling laps. Gafforini wrestled the lead back on lap 37, only to see Beasley drive underneath the four-time champion’s car in turn two to once again take command. With 10 laps remaining, Beasley began to pull away from Gafforini, who had Alex Haase and Mark Shackleford battling hard for third place in his rear-view mirror.

The caution flag flew once more on lap 47 for a spin in turn two by David Perisset. The field was now bunched up on Beasley’s rear bumper. Beasley managed to pull away from Gafforini on the restart and went on to score his first NASCAR Super Late Model victory at the Bullring.