Baca Claims Night One Of Cocopah’s Turkey Classic


SOMERTON, Ariz. – Chaz Baca topped Friday’s IMCA modified feature that headlined night one of the Turkey Classic at Cocopah Speedway.

On the initial start polesitter Zachary Madrid moved to the point, but Baca used a crossover move out of turn two to get to Madrid’s inside. Madrid was able to maintain the lead at the start/finish line, but Baca pulled clear of Madrid out of turn two to take the lead on the second lap.

The first caution would wave with five laps complete as a car spun on the bottom of turn four. On the ensuing restart another car would spin in turn four as the field completed one lap to put six laps on the scoreboard.

When racing resumed Madrid got a big run on the top in turns one and two, but Baca was able to fend him off to maintain the race lead. Baca would pull away from the battle for second and continued to lead until the next caution flag waved with 11 laps left for an incident in turn four.

Baca maintained his lead on the restart and was running away from the field again before the caution waved for another incident in the fourth turn. The field got one more lap in before the caution waved again with five laps left, but it was all happening behind Baca.

No one had anything for Baca during the final five laps as he pulled away to pick up the $1,500 victory. The victory was Baca’s 17th of the season and ninth of the year at Cocopah.

“This car, it has been a good car for me the last few years and this year we’ve gotten it figured out pretty good,” said Baca. “We’ve been really good, especially here. This place seems to like me a lot, which is nice.”

Tanner Black ended up second, followed by Lance Mari, Kollin Hibdon and Jeff Taylor.

Chris Toth won the companion IMCA Northern SportMod after starting 10th. Other winners Friday evening included Don Shaw (Late Model), Madrid (Stock Cars), Steve Kapaun (VERS Dwarf) and Darren Brown (Pro Dwarf).

The finish:

Chaz Baca, Tanner Black, Lance Mari, Kollin Hibdon, Jeff Taylor, Russell Allen, Zachary Madrid, Darrell Hughes II, Joseph Altig, Michael Thing, Shawn Strand, Ryan Roath, Spencer Wilson, Matt Aukland, Matthew Hicks, Kelsy Hayes, Ellsworth Conover, Kelly Johnson, Marvin Mueller, Mike Wedelstadt, Kelsie Foley, Bubba Stafford Jr., Sean Stacy, Steven Daffern.