Allen Wins In Kern Co. Debut

Danny Allen is one-for-one in trips to Kern County. (KCRP photo)
Danny Allen is one-for-one in trips to Kern County. (KCRP photo)
Danny Allen is one-for-one in trips to Kern County. (KCRP photo)

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. –  Fourteen-year-old Danny Allen, in his first career Kern County Raceway Park appearance, made the most of it by winning the finale of the CITGO Lubricants Late Model Twin 35s on Saturday night.

Allen led all 35 laps of the feature as one of six winners on a hot Saturday night of NASCAR-sanctioned action.

Allen started on the pole in the caution-free race around the half-mile speedway. The Late Model rookie driver came into the event making his first half-mile start after a pair of wins at the quarter-mile Stockton 99 Speedway. Points leader Brian Richardson started the event sixth, and navigated his way into second by lap seven.

Richardson methodically reeled in Allen and that set the stage for a 20 lap duel that thrilled the fans. After making numerous looks inside, Richardson finally stuck his nose inside in turn three on lap 33, only to have the door shut closed. Richardson got sideways and Allen was able to pull away with the decisive move.

Allen took a 1.4 second win over Richardson, Lance Wilson, Buddy Shepherd, and Josh Horn.

Wilson made his mark on the night when he was able to top Richardson in the first of the night’s 35 lap races. Allen led the first nine laps of that event after starting on the outside pole alongside Trevor Schlundt.

Wilson used a pair of cautions from spins for Racin Vernon to take over the lead on lap 10 with Brian Richardson following him past Allen. Richardson was unable to make the race close with Wilson taking a strong 1.2 second victory. Allen settled for third with Cole Adamo and Horn the top five.

The finish:

Race One:

Lance Wilson, Brian Richardson, Danny Allen, Cole Adamo,Josh Horn, John Piker, Trevor Schlundt, Hugh Stubblefield, Buddy Shepherd, Racin Vernon

Race Two:

Danny Allen, Brian Richardson, Lance Wilson, Buddy Shepherd, Josh Horn, Cole Adamo, Racin Vernon, John Piker, Trevor Schlundt, Hugh Stubblefield

Previous articleBurks Masters Midway
Next articleNostalgia Night At Waterford is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.