Veteran Eichelberger Can’t Be Stopped


Jake Jones, the pole sitter for the 20-lap Newville Electrical Services 358 Late Model feature, took over the immediate lead. Fifth-place starter Wes Alleman was in fifth by the end of lap one. A massive lap three, third turn pile up resulted in a red flag. Driver Jared Miller, as a precautionary measure, went to the hospital.

Jake Jones continued to lead with Steve Clabaugh in second. Wes Alleman advanced his No. 80 into third. The top three were racing nose to tail, often inches apart. Alleman made his move in the 11th circuit. He swept by Clabaugh to take over the runner-up position. One lap later Alleman moved to the outside of turns three and four to pass Jones.

The final caution of the race came on lap 14 for an expired engine in the Clabaugh machine. Alleman, from Newville, dominated the remaining laps. He won his second straight by nine lengths over Jones, Scott Richwine, Eric Irvin (making his first Williams Grove start), and Sam Gallagher.

Alleman, Shaun Jones, and Richwine won the heats for the 27 entries. The consolation victory went to Bernie Beard. Dave Latsha won the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

Greg Diehl advanced from his third starting spot to the lead on the first lap of the Newville Construction Services Street Stock feature. Dustin Hollinger was in second with fifth-place starter Tim Drawbaugh in third. Hollinger’s No. 5 lost an engine in the third lap, advancing Drawbaugh to second.

Drawbaugh, from Carlisle, challenged leader Diehl. Behind the leaders was a four-car fight for third featuring Ed Halter, Craig Morgan, Jeff Haag, and Bob Gutshall.

Following a lap nine restart, Diehl continued to set the pace with Drawbaugh, Gutshall, Morgan, and Chad Smith challenging. Tim Drawbaugh made his winning pass off turn two in the 13th lap. Two laps later Diehl slid wide allowing Craig Morgan to charge into second, with Bob Gutshall in third, and Chad Smith was fourth. Drawbaugh held off the trailing trio to win his first feature by a length over Morgan. Gutshall finished third, Smith was fourth, and Diehl took fifth.