Velasquez Is A Dodge City Rebel


After a caution four laps in, Gearhart and Jon Herring, Jr., put the pressure on Wilson with Gearhart muscling into the lead on the sixth round.

With Gearhart slipping away over the final 15 non-stop circuits, Herring, Jr., assumed the runner-up position when Wilson pulled to the infield with mechanical woes after eleven laps. Herring, Jr., held off 12th-starter Kenny Sweet over the final rounds for second, with Ryan Heger and Kevin Gray rounding out the top five.

Mike Shenberger made it back-to-back wins in United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds in spectacular fashion with a last-corner pass of Josh Appel in the non-stop 20-lapper.

Shenberger gunned into the lead on the opening round from the fourth starting position only to surrender the point soon after to Appel, who charged by on the high side on the fourth lap after starting eighth.

While Appel tried to slip away on the high side, Shenberger kept up the battle on the low side with the duo racing for the lead the entire distance. Appel momentarily surrendered the point in traffic on the 15th round, only to duck back under Shenberger exiting turn four to retain the lead.

Shenberger kept the pressure on and pulled even with Appel down the backstretch on the final round before surging ahead off the final corner to secure the win. Appel settled for second, with Matthew Crowell, 10th-starter Clay Sellard and 11th-starter Toby Witthuhn rounding out the top five.

In the IMCA Stock Car feature, Michael Pepper took command in the latter stages and then survived a late caution to pick up his first DCRP win of the year in the 20-lap feature.

After Shane Matile and Mel Law both led a pair of laps in the early going, current points leader Billy Phelps took the lead on the fifth round from the 12th-starting position. Pepper was on the move though, battling into second past the midway point and then taking the lead away from Phelps on the 15th round.

A final caution for debris set up a two-lap dash to the stripe with Pepper holding on for victory honors in front of Phelps, with Dusty Witthuhn rebounding from an opening lap spin to earn a third-place finish with Cody Zimmerman and Ron Rich filling out the top five.