Swan Sails To Another Sling Victory


Bennett had to settle for second place at the finish while Jeff Holtz finished a strong third. Dennis Prunty and Rob Braun continued their battle all the way to the finish as they banged doors at the stripe with Prunty barely edging Braun in fourth. Michael Bilderback finished in sixth ahead of Conrad Morgan and Dale Prunty while Steve Apel and Mike Egan rounded out the top ten finishers.

Tommy Hromadka, Dennis Prunty, and Michael Bilderback all captured heat race victories while James Swan was the fastest qualifier after touring the speedway in 11.458 seconds.

Alex Prunty changed his traditional #11 to #39, the number his father Dan competed with at the speedway, and drove the special Father’s Day scheme to the victory in the 40-lap late model main event.

Al Stippich and Bill Prietzel led the field to the green flag and they raced alongside each other for two laps before Stippich’s car washed wide off turn four, carrying Prietzel’s machine with it and opening the door for Alex Prunty to charge to the lead on the inside. Mike Lichtfeld, Ryan DeStefano, and John DeAngelis also used the inside lane to advance around Stippich and Prietzel.

Prunty maintained the lead while Lichtfeld tried to close the gap from second as DeStefano and DeAngelis were close behind in third and fourth when the caution flag waved on lap eleven as Prietzel and Ryan Farrell locked wheels in turn four and spun around. Prunty took the inside for the restart with Lichtfeld taking the high line and as racing resumed, Prunty darted to the lead as Litchtfeld battled with DeStefano over second.

Lichtfeld eventually was able to claim second from DeStefano as Prunty increased his lead on the field. Prunty could not be caught in the closing laps and he drove to the victory over Lichtfeld and DeStefano while Dan Church and Braison Bennett rounded out the top five in fourth and fifth respectively.

Alex Prunty and John DeAngelis each scored late model heat race wins while Dan Church set fast time at 12.673 seconds.

Kyle Chwala passed Mark DePorter for the lead of the 30-lap Area Sportsman feature on lap 22 and drove to his third victory of the season. Kody Hubred also worked his way around DePorter late in the race to finish second while DePorter finished a strong third. John Daley and Mark Fogel crossed the finish line in fourth and fifth respectively. Tyler Schley and Kody Hubred were the winners of the Area Sportsman heat races and Kyle Chwala was the fastest qualifier at 13.453 seconds.

Steve Dickson took the lead of the 25-lap Slinger Bee feature on lap 17 and held off Nick Schmidt for the victory. Carl Benn finished in third place while Jacob Schraufnagel and Ryan Savage were fourth and fifth respectively. Allen Maher won the Slinger Bees semi-feature over Nicole Mueller and the two transferred into the main event. Slinger Bees heat race wins were recorded by Dale Kiley-Schaefer, Jacob Schraufnagel, and Nick Schmidt. Brandon Tackes was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 15.004 seconds.

Dennis Prunty won the five lap grudge match between himself and Al Roberts with Prunty wheeling a 1981 Pontiac Firebird and Roberts driving his souped up pick-up truck. Roberts returned later in the evening to win the Spectator Eliminator races, driving his truck to victory over a BMW. Ron Schmitt topped the wild Figure 8 race to bring the evening to a close.