Swilling Earns Summer Shootout Score


CONCORD, N.C.– Fans got their money’s worth in a marathon night at Charlotte Motor Speedway, which included 12 feature races.

In addition to the Round Nine Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series features on Tuesday, five divisions completed feature races originally scheduled for Round Eight.

Justin Swilling took home his second victory in the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series in the Round Nine Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Pro feature. He took the lead as they came to the green and drove away from the field, holding off hard-chargers Matt Pappa, Daniel Hemric and Tyler Green who challenged him on several restarts.

Following four cautions, officials shortened the race to 17 laps, every one of which was led by Swilling. Hemric finished second followed by Green in third.

In the NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro feature, Tyler Hill took control of the lead on lap 10 and held off the competition to win his second race of the season.

Starting in the runner-up spot, Hill slid to third before fighting his way back up to race leader Spencer Boyd’s bumper by lap 9. Hill moved to the inside of Boyd on Turn 1 to take the lead on lap 10. Boyd attempted to retake the point, but faced competition as David Garbo Jr. tried to make a pass. Fighting for the lead, Garbo spun, resulting in a caution.

On the restart, Hill pulled away from the field and drove on for the victory. Jake Spillers took second and Joey Mucciacciaro crossed the stripe in third.

Layton Sullivan made his move at just the right moment to win his first Bandolero Outlaws feature.

Sullivan and Tyler Lester dominated the race, combining to lead all 20 laps. Lester led the early portion of the race before the field bunched up following a Lap 13 caution, involving Tyler Farris and Stefan Parsons on the backstretch. Lester got loose in Turn 4 on Lap 16, allowing Sullivan to move to the lead and cruise on to take the checkers.

Lester settled for second while Jacob Heafner finished third.

Other winners in Round Nine included Tom Pistone in the Auto Country Club Legend Car Masters feature; Reid Wilson in the Legend Car Young Lions feature; Austin Green in the Bandolero Bandits feature and Grayson Bunrick in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits feature.

Winners from the Round Eight make-up features included Liz Montgomery in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division; Green in the Bandolero Bandits division; Seth Werner in the Bandolero Outlaws division; Amber Colvin in the NOS Energy Legend Car Semi-Pro division; and Kaz Grala in the Legend Car Young Lions division.