Summer Shootout Champions Crowned

Joe Ryan Osborne won the Semi-Pro division championship at the 20th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. (CMS/Tami Pope photo)
Joe Ryan Osborne won the Semi-Pro division championship at the 20th annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. (CMS/Tami Pope photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — Fans enjoyed fireworks on and off the track at the final round of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series, Tuesday.

Daniel Hemric, Joe Ryan Osborne, Michael Torres and John Holleman were among the season champions at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Steven Cantrell started on the pole in the Legend Car Pro division feature race, after an abysmal 2013 season he led most of the 28-lap race, which was shortened by officials. The race was marred by eight cautions, including one that involved eventual champion Hemric, who was unable to continue.

Evan Swilling mounted a challenge for the lead in the latter part of the race, but could not get around Cantrell before the checkers flew. Cantrell collected his first win of the season, Swilling finished second, Joey Padgett in third, Kaz Grala in fourth and Kason Plott in fifth.

Hemric had a 198-point lead heading into the feature race over Swilling and clinched his second Pro division championship after winning seven of the 10 2013 events.

The final round of Legend Car Young Lions division racing was nothing short of exciting with a championship on the line. Brayton Haws led the field to the green and never looked back taking home his first victory this season. But the win didn’t come easy for Haws, who dealt with numerous contenders as cautions bunched the field back up. With a total of nine cautions in 17 laps, notables collected in wrecks included point leader William Byron and previous winner Stefan Parsons. Haws claimed the victory followed by Carson Ferguson in second, Torres in third, Dillon Faggart fourth and Matt Craig in fifth.

Torres was crowned the Young Lions division champion of the 2013 Jack in the Box Summer Shootout season. He entered the final race 30 points behind William Byron and with one victory, edged out Byron during an exciting Round 10 finale.

In the Bandolero Bandits feature, Dawson Cram started on the pole and also claimed the victory. His third win of the season was not an easy ride with the point leader, Werner, behind him.

Werner started the feature in last place, but slowly pushed his way up to the front of the pack. On lap 15, Werner was finally able to best Cram. However, the two drivers battled for the first spot until lap 17, when Cram took the lead for good.

Werner took home second place with Zachary Dabbs, Ryleigh Lemonds and Daniel Wilk rounding out the top five.

Werner came away with the division championship in the Bandolero Bandits division after entering the race 77 markers ahead. Werner won three races in this season of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series.

Osborne won his fifth race of the 2013 Summer Shootout Series and locked up his first Legend Car Semi-Pro division championship in the prestigious series. Holleman picked up his sixth win of the season in the Bandolero Outlaws division and also captured the season championship for the first time in his career.

In other feature action, John Sossoman scored his third victory of the season in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division while Tom Pistone clinched the division championship.

Trevor Rizzo claimed his first career Summer Shootout Series Beginner Bandits victory. The Beginner Bandits do not race for points, so no champion was crowned in that division.

Championship point standings are unofficial pending post-race inspection and point tabulation by race officials.

The night also featured a 25-lap showdown with Bowman Gray Stadium Stocks beating and banging around the frontstretch quarter-mile oval. Shane Southard took the checkers in a caution-shortened exhibition race.