Pollard & Hirschman Share New Smyrna Honors

Bubba Pollard claimed three super late model wins during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing. (NASCAR Photo)

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – Bubba Pollard inched closer to capturing the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing crown with his third super late model victory of the week Thursday at New Smyrna Speedway.

Pollard drove by Anthony Sergi on the 10th circuit and led the rest of the 35-lap feature in David Rogers’ No. 11 to move into the super late model division points lead.   Gabe Sommers, Sergi, Alex Labbe and Carson Kvapil completed the top-five.

Brad May, who won Wednesday’s super late model feature and entered the evening as the points leader, battled a mechanical gremlin in his car that resulted in an 18th-place finish.

Pollard now holds a 12-point advantage over May in the battle for the World Series title.

In the tour-type modified feature, Matt Hirschman collected his second-straight checkered flag.

Doug Coby took the lead early in the modified feature before giving up the lead to Timmy Solomito on the eighth circuit. Solomito held the lead through a few caution periods in the 35-lap contest, which kept the field bunched together.

A restart on the 27th circuit allowed Hirschman to make his move on Solomito and he drove to the inside to take the lead one lap later. Hirschman would go on to lead the remainder of the distance ahead of Solomito, Chuck Hossfeld, Bobby Measmer Jr. and Tommy Catalano.

Jamie Skinner won the pro late model feature while Jerry Symons won the Florida Modified feature.

The finishes:

Super Late Models: Bubba Pollard, Gabe Sommers, Anthony Sergi, Alex Labbe, Carson Kvapil, Ryan Moore, Jett Noland, Travis Braden, Derek Kraus, Jared Irvan, Tate Fogleman, Derek Griffith, Logan Seavey, Sam Mayer, Nolan Pope, Colin Garrett, Brandon Herbert, Brad May, Christian Rose, Dakota Stroup.

Tour Type Modifieds: Matt Hirschman, Timmy Solomito, Chuck Hossfeld, Bobby Measmer Jr., Tommy Catalano, Andy Jankowiak, Patrick Emerling, Calvin Carroll, Dillon Steuer, Amy Catalano, Jeremy Gerstner, Tyler Rypkema, Nikki Carroll, Anthony Nocella, Doug Coby, Jimmy Blewett, Chris Ridsdale, Mike Leaty, Al Emmarino, Mike Bologna.