Nosbisch In East Bay Photo Finish


GIBSONTON, Fla. – It was a night of non-stop action Saturday at East Bay Raceway Park as five divisions were on hand.

Late Models had their warm-up race before the Scott Thompson Memorial next weekend. Also on hand tonight were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Outlaw Fours, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks and the 4 Cylinder Bombers.

The first feature of the night was the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks. Winning their heats were Mike Wilson and Thomas Burnside. For the front row of the 15 Lap Feature Event were Justan Rodgers and Thomas Burnside. When the green flag waved it was Burnside taking over the lead on lap one and not looking back as he had Mike Wilson and Justan Rodgers trying to chase him down. Burnside was leading until his brother William Burnside spun with just five laps remaining.

That put Wilson and Rodgers right on his back bumper for the five remaining laps. With just one lap to go it was fourth place Micheal Eaton spinning in turn four bringing out the final caution of the race. So when the green and white were waved together, Burnside went on to win his very first feature in the Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks. Rounding out the top five were Mike Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Jr., Buck Woodhouse and William Burnside.

Up next were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Winning their heats were Bobby Dixon and Austin Sanders. Sanders would start on the outside front row with Nate Bregenzer on the pole for the feature event. Sanders quickly jumped out to the front spot with Bregenzer, Dixon and Roger Crouse trying to chase him down. On lap seven it was Buzzie Reutimann spinning in turn four and would have to go to the rear of the field.

On the restart Sanders led the way until Jerry Bruce spun in turn one and with nowhere to go, Reutimann made contact with Bruce ending his night as he headed to the pits and had a tenth place finish. Green waved once again and Bregenzer was trying to get by Sanders until the caution came out on lap twelve as third place Dixon spun in turn as several cars were able to avoid contact with him. When the checkered waved Sanders went on to win his sixth feature win of season as he tries to win his third Championship in four years. Rounding out the top five was Roger Crouse, Dale Kelley, Matt Miller and Nate Bregenzer.

Next was the tune up race for the Late Models as they are getting ready for next week’s 50 Lap Feature paying $3,800 to the winner sponsored by Airgas for the makeup date of the Scott Thompson Memorial. Winning heats were Keith Nosbisch and Dalton Myers. For the feature it was two former Champions on the front row, David Schmauss and defending Champion Roger Crouse. When the green waved several cars made contact in turn two making it a complete restart. The green waved once again at the second attempt and David Schmauss led the first eight laps with Crouse hot on his heels. Crouse took over the lead on lap nine and seemed to have everything under control as he was able to hold off Schmauss, Rich Pratt, Keith Nosbisch and Dalton Myers.

But with just five laps remaining in the caution free race, Nosbisch was able to get around Pratt and chase down Schmauss and Crouse. On lap twenty four, Nosbisch made his way around Schmauss and was closing in on Crouse. Crouse and Nosbisch headed into turn three almost side by side as Nosbisch drove his car underneath Crouse coming out of turn four and winning by mere inches over Crouse at the finish line.

“I think we bent something on the first accident on the backstretch. So we will take it back to the shop to see if anything broke,” Nosbisch said. “I’ve won the Scott Thompson before and look forward to repeating and picking up the guitar trophy.”

Next up were the Outlaw Fours. Winning the heat was Stephen Hohlbaugh. Nick Hebrank and Brandon Yates made up the front row for the feature. Leading the way was Hebrank until the first caution came out on lap two as several cars got together on the front stretch. When the green waved once again it was Hebrank leading the remaining thirteen laps without a caution picking up his first win of the 2013 Season. Rounding out the top five were Stephen Hohlbaugh, Billy Howard, Brandon Yates and Jesse James Foster.

The final event of the night was the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning heats were Don R. Quinn, Raymond Vann and Jimmy Baker. Making up the front row for the feature were Richard Humfeld and Darrell Taylor. When the green waved it was Richard Humfeld leading the first lap until Raymond Vann went around Humfeld and took over the top spot until the only caution of the race came out on lap eight as Robert Kissam slightly tagged the wall in turn two and came to rest ending his night.

When the green waved it was Vann leading the way with John Moore behind him lap after lap until the checkered waved as Raymond Vann went on and picked up back to back wins with John Moore, Jimmy Baker, Don R. Quinn and Darrell Taylor rounding out the top five. It was a scary moment on the cool down lap as Taylor’s car went up in flames with a trail of fire following behind him. Taylor quickly got out of his car and the flames were extinguished.

Previous articleHolzhausen Stars At Marshfield
Next articleAnother Hagerstwon Victory For Weaver is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.