Nichols Continues Thursday Thunder Mastery


HAMPTON, Ga. – The opening night of the 15th season of Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Thursday Thunder short-track racing series featured two first-time winners and one competitor who continues to make history.

The Legend Masters feature began with Terry Mathis on the pole. There was a ton of jostling on the first lap with Skip Nichols out front after the gaggle of cars sorted out.

Nichols was dominant, leading every lap to post his 36th career Thursday Thunder victory.

Chandler Smith paced the field to the start for the Racing Radios Bandits feature. Zach Leonhardi and Smith swapped the lead, however Leonhardi got loose and lost track position.

The 2011 division champion Joshua Hicks made the pass for the top spot on lap 14. Smith fought hard, but was unable to get back by Hicks, who collected his seventh Thursday Thunder victory.

The Legends Semi-Pro main event kicked off with 2010 Semi-Pro champion William Plemons III out front. Plemons was flawless and broke away from the pack to lead every lap and score his 10th Thursday Thunder victory.

Riley Thornton led the field to the green in the Legends Young Lion main. On lap three Evan Bell shot by Thornton after a restart. Thornton battled back on lap six to reclaim the lead and held on to capture his first Thursday Thunder win.

The Outlaws feature started with Taylor Jorgensen as the leader. Taylor was the class of the field, leading every lap to claim her first Thursday Thunder victory.

Bubba Harry was the pole sitter for the Legends Pro feature. On lap three Mason Massey got a nose to the inside of Harry to snatch the top spot. Massey drove away from the field to collect his first Thursday Thunder Pro victory and his 16th in his Thursday Thunder career.

The Buzz Cars feature started with Allen Nolan as the leader. On lap two, Tim Brotzge raced his way to the front, but it didn’t last long. Buddy Brewer chased down Brotzge and shoved him out of the way to become the leader. Brewer led the remaining circuits to collect the win.