Miller Masters East Bay Modified Feature


GIBSONTON, Fla. – Matt Miller led the list of feature winners during Saturday’s events at East Bay Raceway Park.

The first feature of the night belonged to the Outlaw Fours. Winning their heats were Jesse James Foster and Zach Amundsen. For the feature making up the front row was Bill Mort and Brandon Yates. When the green waved it was Amundsen taking over the top spot and leading for the first three laps until the first caution came out as Rachelle Rudolph’s car went up in flames in turn two. Rudolph was okay and she said car would be ready to race next weekend.

On the restart Amundsen would lead again until the next caution came out on lap four as Yates spun in turn three. On the restart it was Amundsen leading with Hohlbaugh right on his back bumper as the two would cross the line side by side and Hohlbaugh taking over on lap six. When the checkered waved it was Hohlbaugh picking up his fifth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Amundsen, Foster, Nick Hebrank and Raymond Folwell.

The Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks were next as Jarod Gay and Mike Wilson won their heats and would start on the front row for the feature. Gay quickly led the first lap until David Barwick, II spun on the front stretch bringing out the first caution. The green waved once again and Gay led the field once again until the third caution came out as Austin Carr spun on the front stretch facing the field sideways.

Robert Morfin, Sr. was also collected in the incident but was able to continue as Carr’s night ended being towed off by two wreckers. Two more cautions came out but no one seemed to be able to catch Jarod as he went on to pick up his first feature win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Wilson, William Burnside, Dennis Williams and Dennis Wilson Jr.

Next were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds as they were tuning for the Larry Miller Memorial to be held here on August 17th paying $2,000 to the winner for a 50 Lap Feature Event. Winning their heats were Matt Miller and Roger Crouse. Miller started on the front row and along side him was Buzzie Reutimann. Reutimann would lead the first four laps until caution came out for Bobby Dixon, Tim Gay and Dale Kelley as the three spun in turn two. All drivers were able to roll away and continue the feature.

Reutimann led the field to the green flag once again with brothers Matt and Steve Miller challenging Buzzie for the lead. Caution came out as Steve had a right front flat and would retire to the pits ending his night. On the restart Reutimann again led with Matt Miller battling lap after lap trying to take over the top spot. On lap twelve it was Reutimann and Miller at the line with Miller leading by a half a car length and finally made the pass and went on to win the feature.

“It feels good to be here and if it wasn’t for my dad, my brother and I wouldn’t be here doing what we do today. This win definitely is for my dad,” he stated in Victory Lane.

Rounding out the top five were Reutimann, Austin Sanders, Roger Crouse and Dale Kelley.

The V8 Warriors were next and winning their heats were Jeff Weaver and Brett Phillips. Jason Manning and Bill Whitney made up the front row for the feature. When the green flag waved it was Whitney leading Manning by a half a car length until Manning would spin in turn two bringing out the first caution. Also involved in the accident was Ed Rayburn as he collided with Manning and hit turn two wall ending his night. Whitney would take the green and would lead until he spun leading the field out of turn two handing the lead over to Marco Reyes.

On lap five it was Reyes and Jeff Weaver side by side with Weaver taking over the top spot on lap six and went on to win his second feature of the season. Rounding out the top five were Reyes, Whitney made it back up to the third position after spinning early on and Jessica Robbins with a great finish in fourth and Tim Stoffel fifth.

Final event of the night went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were last week’s feature winner Brett Calonge, Raymond Vann and Jim Baker. Vann and Calonge made up the front row for the 15 lap feature event. Calonge was looking to make it two in row but Vann would lead lap one. First caution came out as Gene Gross and Calonge both slowed in turn four. Calonge would go to the pits and return but Gross would not be able to finish.

On the restart on lap two it was Vann leading Baker and Richard Humfeld until the next caution would come out for Stephen Morris as he spun and faced turn fours wall and would retire to the pits. On the restart on lap seven, Vann would lead the way until the very next when he slowed and would stop in turn four ending his night. Points leader John Moore would take over the top spot after the restart but would be the one to draw the next caution as he slowed and stopped in turn three handing the lead over to George Handy on lap eleven.

Handy was able to hold off a hard charging Jeremey Douglas as Handy went on to win his first feature for the season. Rounding out the top five were Douglas, Jim Baker, Brett Calonge and Darrell Taylor.

Previous articleNobles Leads BRP Feature Winners
Next articleCottle Masters Plymouth Sprint Show is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.