Maddox Masters East Bay Sprints


GIBSONTON, Fla. — A.J. Maddox won the 25-lap non-winged feature for The Top Gun Sprints Saturday night at East Bay Raceway Park.

Danny Martin Jr. led the opening laps, but when Martin spun to a stop, Maddox inherited the lead and paced the remainder of the event, winning for the fourth time this season.

“I was only half throttle as the cushion got thinner, “ Maddox said.

Tony Agin, Billy Boyd Jr., Matt Kurtz and Mark Ruel Jr. rounding out the top five.

Modified graduate Kyle Bronson copped the late model feature in only his second start in the heavier dirt cars.

“I want to thank all my guys for helping out, and also thanked his car owners Wayne and Shirlene Hammond for giving him the opportunity to drive for them,” said Bronson.

Roger Crouse, Phillip Cobb, Jack Nosbisch Jr. and Hayden Campbell rounded out the top five.

Jeremy Simpson earned the first victory of his career in the limited late model division.

Eric Moon picked up his seventh street stock victory of the campaign and Robert Kissam won the four-cylinder bomber feature.