Maddox Leads BRP Race Winners


OCALA, Fla. – The Bubba Army Limited Sprints, Limited late Models, Hobby Stocks, 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks, and TQ Late Models all put on a fantastic show to start off October on Saturday.

The Limited Late Models started the action off with Tyler Clem opening the gap up from pole. Richard Ferry would give chase, but a little past halfway he found his race car slowing and he would retire. Clem would continue to open the gap and eventually beat Shane Koperda by more than 17 seconds. Ricky Land would round out the podium with Chuck Jackson and Ferry the top five.

Brian Hansford opened up with the lead in the Hobby Stocks, but Tim Powers was hunting him down and had Mike Stalnaker with him. At the halfway point Heath Walker looped his No. 55 and left Hansford to fend off Powers and Stalnaker. On the restart Hansford didn’t fire and Powers made contact that sent the No. 2 around.

Stalnaker, Joey Forsyth, and Wally Schneider were involved as well and the No. 57 of Schneider would retire as the right rear wheel fell off. Hansford would retire from the event (and was the caution causer anyway) leaving Powers, Stalnaker, and points leader Devin Walker up front. As lapped traffic came into play, Mike Stalnaker set up his move. As the front two entered turn one, Stalnaker used the lapped traffic of Donnie Reed and Dave Arivett to get around Tim Powers and grab the win. Devin Walker, Ray Ethridge and Heath Walker completed the top five.

John Hopke opened up the TQ Late Model race with the lead, but on lap five Don Strosahl Jr. stole the top spot. On lap 12, John Hopke and Terry Wright made contact that sent Hopke reeling. Both would restart at the tail leaving Don Strosahl, Jr., David Rader, and Scott Gray up front. Strosahl would hold on for the win with Rader, Wright, John Hopke, and Jerry Heflin the top five.

The Bubba Army Limited Sprints kicked off with A.J. Maddox pulling away from the field. On lap 16 Danny Martin Jr. made contact with the lapped car of Otto Scrape and the caution flag would fly. Maddox, Martin and Tyler Godwin would bring them back to life. Martin and Godwin would struggle with the damage and left Maddox to ease to victory. “Perennial Bridesmaid” Robbie Smith would finish in his usual spot over Godwin, Martin and Mark Ruel Jr.

The 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks finished the night with Jonathan Appleby opening up the gap and never looking back. With five laps remaining the caution was brought out by Buddy Pope and Kevin Hansford, leaving Appleby to stave off William Gillam and Tony Campbell. Gillam and Campbell would make contact and ended Campbell’s night and put Gillam at the back. Appleby held on to win but was later disqualified in tech inspection. That handed the victory to Brandon Elwood.

Previous articleWOO: Williams Grove Speedway
Next articleFORMULA ONE: Korean Grand Prix is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.